Under Rose-Tainted Skies

WP_20160730_14_12_46_Pro 1

Author: Louise Gornall
Published: Chicken House, 2016
Pages: 271
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Mental Health
Read more about it Add it on Goodreads 
4.5 out of 5 stars

Hello everyone! Today I have for you a review, which isn’t really a review. Basically, I will share a little on what I thought but mostly I will share quotes, because this book is very quotable, in my opinion.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies is an open and honest account, from the POV of Norah Jane Dean, of someone living with agoraphobia, OCD and depression. This is a book, I feel, that is so vitally important; it’s not only important for people also living with mental health conditions but for those without. It is a book which I think–desperately hope–will be an eye-opener for people and hopefully help them to have a better grasp of mental health illnesses, because you may not be able to physically see these illnesses, but that does not mean they are not there.

Upon buying this book, I remember saying, “If this is a book about a boy coming along and their love ‘curing’ all, then I will throw the book across the room” and this is serious business because I would never want to harm a book (no books were harmed during the writing of this post). Luckily I wanted to hug this book instead of throw it. There is a love interest and I did find the fact that he likes comics and wants to study art a little clichéd, but it was beautiful and realistic because he didn’t ‘cure’ all; Luke awoke feelings in Norah that she hadn’t yet experienced, which terrified her. He was there for Norah and did his utmost best to understand but he wasn’t there as a character to ‘fix’ her. Mental illness doesn’t just go away, you learn to manage it and live with it the best you can, it doesn’t disappear over night because a guy comes along and I’m so glad that Louise Gornall provided a more realistic take on mental health. (Also, there was a great mother-daughter relationship! Yay!) A beautiful, honest and enlightening book on what it can be like to struggle with mental illness.

Now, some quotes.

Above everything else, tired of battling with my own mind.

When people say ‘weird’, what they really mean is ‘different’. And difference has never been a bad thing.

In other news, Cupid is an asshole.

‘I prefer modern slang myself’, I reply.
‘Word’, he says with a grin so glorious I feel sorry for anyone in the world who will never get to see it.

Beauty comes from how you treat people and how you behave.

‘You’re brave, did you know that?’
He must have me mistaken for someone else. ‘You have all these fears, your body endures all this pain and heartache, but you keep going. I think that’s really brave.’

Has anyone else read URTS yet? Has anyone ever had the horrible urge to throw a book *gasp* because of the dreaded love cures all? Don’t worry, you won’t want to do that with this book–I hope not, anyway. Have any good book recommendations surrounding mental health? 

Leave a Reply

