Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon Introduction

FFR2016design

Hello all! Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon will be starting on the 10th July and the lovely hosts have provided participants with a set of questions for the introduction post, in order to get to know each other. Here goes…

Who are you?
Hello! I’m Chantelle. Socially awkward. Fantasy fan. Strive to work in Publishing. That about covers it. Haha, not really but I won’t go on.  

Why are you joining the read-a-thon?
I participated last year and had fun; also, I’ve been a bit lazy lately with blogging so this is the perfect excuse to write some posts.

Which books do you intend to read?
I have already read the ‘Throne of Glass’ and ‘Grisha’ series, so I will be reading the ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ series. I’m intrigued by Greek mythology so I predict I’ll enjoy this aspect of the books. 

How many pages do you think you’ll manage?
I have no idea. It all depends on how busy I am during that week. But I’ll most likely finish book one–I have the first three books.

What’s your favourite thing about the fantasy genre?
Probably the different worlds each author creates and when an author brings magic and fantasy into the real world setting making you secretly feel like anything is possible. We all hope Hogwarts exists, right? That we’re not really muggles? Just me? It’s nice to escape every once in a while and Fantasy provides that.   

Which fantasy books do you always recommend?
ANYTHING BY BRANDON SANDERSON! The man is a genius! It can be incredibly difficult to explain why it is you love something so much, sometimes, and that may sound strange, but when you get swept along in a story it can be hard to pinpoint that special something. There are however two things with Sanderson’s books which I know I love and they are: Characterisation and world building. 

Sanderson has a way of creating characters that you come to hold dear to your heart. For example, in Sanderson’s ‘Mistborn’ series–the second era books–each time someone is mentioned from the first era, I became very emotional. And my Three Amigos! Wax, Wayne and Marasi, I love so much. Then there’s David from the ‘Reckoners’ series; his metaphors are funny and he is just so adorable. And Lightsong! Omg, I can’t stop! See what I mean? Love all the characters!

The world’s Sanderson creates are always guaranteed to be unique, intricate and magical in some way. Okay, this answer is stretching on. I’ll stop now. Go read a Sanderson book.

Which fantasy books are you dying to read?
The rest of Sanderson’s books. Come on, you had to know that was coming, haha. Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova is out next month and I’m looking forward to reading that. Must. Know. What. Happens. 

If you could travel to one fantasy world, which one would it be? (I know it’s hard, but try not to say Hogwarts.)
No Hogwarts? Where else is there? Okay, okay. I can think of another fantasy world… *Tumbleweed blows across my path* Um… So many have death and destruction, so it puts me off. The Shire? Pretty scenery. A countryside life seems nice. I want the Allomancy elements from ‘Mistborn’ though. 

And that’s it, folks. No more questions. Head on over to Olivia’s or Inge/Aly’s blogs and take a look if you want to read more about Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon. Bye! *waves*

8 thoughts on “Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon Introduction

  1. Welcome back, Chantelle! I’m really excited to have you join us again, AND that you’re reading Percy Jackson! That definitely scores you some cool points. I absolutely agree with you on Sanderson’s work, as you know — that man’s work is legendary. (Also LIGHTSONG.)

    Like

  2. I love the Greek mythology in Percy Jackson, I’m sure you’ll enjoy that when you read it. 🙂 I’ve had Mistborn for ages, I just keep putting off actually reading it. 😀 It’s not that I don’t want to – I really, really do – but I’ve just been very busy lately, and I always feel like I need to properly take the time to settle down with a book when it’s fantasy and I have to learn a new world if that makes sense. I hope I can read it soon!

    Like

  3. SANDERSON BOOKS ARE INCREDIBLE! I adore the Mistborn series, and I’m about to start reading The Stormlight Archive. I’m just constantly amazed at how he creates these insane worlds which all seem so real and all have cool magic systems – definitely one of my favourite fantasy authors. OH, and I hope you enjoy Percy Jackson. It’s a fantastic series, especially if you like Greek mythology!

    Like

  4. Yay! Glad you’re with us again ❤ I haven't read anything by Brandon Sanderson yet but I want to so badly ;.; I just haven't seen his books around the Netherlands lately so I haven't been able to pick one up! One day, one day I shall! And I love PJ so hopefully you'll fall head over heels in love with the world too ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

