Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 2

It’s finally at an end: ‘The Hunger Games’ movie franchise has released its’ final instalment and I…thoroughly enjoyed it. The ending of Part 1 of Mockingjay I can’t actually remember but Part 2 seemed to start pretty much from where Part 1 ended, I think. We continue to see Katniss fight to bring down President Snow and all which that involves. There is emotion, action and a few cringe-worthy moments.

Let me start by saying that it has been a long time since I read the books, so I don’t actually have much idea about how much the movie stuck to the book – I remember a couple of scenes from the book matching up to the movie, but not much more. This movie, I feel, went up a notch in regards to emotion. I couldn’t help but think while watching it, It’s really nice to see more emotion from Katniss. Maybe this is because it was coming to an end, she was getting closer to destroying Snow and that meant possibly being closer to her death or it might have been because she had endured even more pain but either way I feel that she displayed more emotion and it was good to see.

If you’ve read the books or seen Mockingjay: Part 1 then you will know that something happens to Peeta that places a bit of a wedge between him and Katniss, and it was difficult to see but also nice to see how Peeta slowly came back to her. The moments where he would ask her questions about what is real or not were vital to the movie in my opinion: it allowed us to see their relationship slowly being built back up but also it fed into the emotional side which I have mentioned. These scenes allowed us to see more emotion from stoic Katniss and see that she truly does care for him.

This movie, for me, had more cringe-worthy moments than the others – because of the minds of the Gamekeepers – and well, people die but this isn’t unusual for an instalment in ‘The Hunger Games’ movies. It kept a nice pace and had enough action and suspense.

If you’re like me, you won’t be disappointed by this final instalment of the movie adaptation of Suzanne Collins riveting trilogy. A great conclusion! My favourite of the franchise.

Has anyone made the journey to the cinema yet? What did you think?

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 2

  1. Gosh–I can’t believe it’s ALREADY over. I swear it was only the other week we were beginning to hear about casting news. O.o Yeah, like you it’s been a lonnnnnng time since I’ve read the books so thankfully, I don’t think I’ll be nit-picking it as much as I would’ve been if I’d read the books lately. I haven’t seen it yet, but hopefully soon. So glad you liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

