What Feminism Means to Me

Recently, I came across Bookish Spinsters on Twitter and was thrilled to see this being talked about. It is a weekly link up discussing feminism with a different question/prompt each week. I’m a little late writing this post but wanted to write it anyway. The first week featured the question: What is Feminism?

I have always considered myself a feminist; I have difficulty understanding those who don’t consider themselves a feminist, because this to me is like saying you don’t value equality. (It is not my intention to offend anyone here.) Just because you may not have personally experienced inequality due to your sex, does not mean it does not exist, so to me, saying you’re not a feminist is like saying you don’t care about all the unjust inequality that takes place due to someone’s sex. It isn’t my intention to be all ‘preachy’ but I just don’t understand why sometimes there seems to be a slight stigma attached to the word… Proudly saying I’m a Feminist is acknowledging that inequality between man and woman does still exist and that it is not okay. This is what feminism is to me: Acknowledging that inequality.

Any type of inequality is wrong but don’t get me started on that, otherwise this post will never end, but obviously the purposes of this post focuses on the inequality between woman and man. It is beyond sad, in my opinion, that the term ‘Feminism’ even needs to exist. That women were – and still are to an extent – viewed as so much less than their human counterpart, men, that a whole movement was needed to try and address this.

It is important to stress that feminism is not about hating men – not at all- and I believe men can also call themselves feminists. I mean, why not? If they acknowledge that there is a problem to address and that it must be addressed then surely they should call themselves a feminist? Feminism is not a man-hating movement; for me, it has always been a movement seeking the equality that all women deserve.

Women suffer in many different ways due to their sex – we are not exactly universal in this way as we are all different and come from all different backgrounds, but this is a whole different post and there has been, I think, much discussion on this. There is one universal truth though and that is: As a sex, females have – and still do – experience inequality as a result of our sex.

If feminism didn’t exist women wouldn’t be allowed to vote or own their own property and much more and for this I am extremely grateful to those who paved the way for us to have these opportunities. We have come a long way but there is still a way to go. I am proud to call myself a feminist. Equality for all!

What do you think Dear Readers: What does feminism mean to you? Has anyone read Fifty Shades of Feminism? It’s an interesting book – it made me laugh and cry. A must read!

4 thoughts on “What Feminism Means to Me

  1. Great post, Chantelle! I haven’t even heard of Fifty Shades of Feminism, I’ll have to keep an eye out for it. I have to admit, I was one of those people who hated the term “feminism” because of all the negative connotations associated with it (which themselves reflect the amount of hatred and disrespect towards women still present in our society). Then I took a Women’s Reproductive Health class my senior year of college and realized that all the things I’ve always believed in and supported are the very definition of “feminism.” Now I embrace the label, rather than fearing it.

    Like

    1. Aww, thanks Maraia! It’s a book which features fifty women’s views of what feminism is to them. I got my copy signed from three of the contributors when I went to the Edinburgh Book Festival; it was so great and inspirational to hear them talk. It was the first book I got signed and I had no idea what to say to them – as usual, lol.

      I really don’t understand all the negative connotations. We should all want equality, so what’s so bad about that? I do think it’s all about education and people realising that feminism isn’t some man-hating movement etc. I’m so glad you came to embrace the word!

      Like

      1. I didn’t even know you went to the Edinburgh Book Festival! Was that this year? Very cool. Haha, I would have been bright red and stuttering, I’m sure.

        For me, at least, it wasn’t that I thought the ideas behind feminism were bad, but I was afraid of the backlash from labeling myself as such and how other people would interpret it. The reason there are negative connotations are the same reasons we need feminism in the first place, because many people DON’T want equality. That would mean giving up power, which is scary to people. It astounds me that women can even think of themselves as lesser or subservient to men, but it’s more common than we probably like to pretend.

        Like

Leave a Reply

