The Blogging Secrets Book Tag

The lovely Inge from Bookshelf Reflections tagged me, which came in very handy as I’ve been busy and needed a post idea, so this came just at the right time, so thanks Inge! On to the questions…

How long have you been a blogger?

It will be one year on 4th February, so…nine months almost. My blog’s still a baby. *Cue the awwwws*

At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

I have no idea, sadly I do not possess a crystal ball.

What is the best thing about blogging?

The people. The sweet friendly people and also that moment when someone says “Great review” or “Awesome discussion post” which brings a smile to my face.

What’s the worst thing about blogging?

Um…I don’t think I’ve come across one. Maybe the finding time part; it takes a lot of time and can be difficult to think of posts sometimes.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

When it comes to reviews I usually take my own photos and sometimes take my own photos for discussion posts etc. but I also sometimes get images from Pixabay; taking my own photos doesn’t take too long – I’m no photographer, trust me – but using images from Pixabay takes a bit longer.

Who is your book crush?

Just one? The one that my mind always automatically goes to is Levi from Fangirl. He is just so incredibly sweet and such a gentleman and I don’t think I could look at him smiling and not smile myself. Also, the Drake brothers from the ‘Drake Chronicles’ by Alyxandra Harvey – I have a MAJOR soft spot for them. I would love to meet this family.

Which author would you love to have on your blog?

Well, I don’t think I would ever have the courage to ask an author to feature on my blog – I think part of that is probably because my blog is small which would make me even more nervous asking them. There are however many authors I would love to have on my blog, the top three being: Brandon Sanderson, Rainbow Rowell and Sarah J. Maas. Also Patrick Ness, but I think I would be even more of a nervous wreck talking to Patrick.

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

It depends… If I’ve been out that day, then whatever I was wearing – I’m a jeans girl; if I have no plans to go out, then my PJs most likely. So glamorous, haha.

How long does it take you to prepare to blog?

It all depends what I’m posting. I like to write a review as soon as I’ve finished a book so it’s all fresh in my mind, which can take a couple of hours at most – I get distracted easily. This doesn’t take much preparation other than reading the book, obviously. Other posts, like discussion posts can sit in my drafts for ages. I have one post sitting in drafts that only has a title.

How do you feel about the book blogger community?

You are all an awesome group of people! Have a slice of cake (or eat the whole cake if you like) for being so awesome.  baking-842042_1920

What do you think one should do to run a successful blog?

It depends what you mean by a ‘successful blog’… I consider it a success every time I actually manage to write a post, but one thing I think every blogger needs to do is respond to comments. Now, I even have trouble finding time to respond to comments sometimes, so I don’t even know how the more well-known bloggers manage it. I do think it’s important to acknowledge the comment some way, after all, that person has taken the time to read your post and then comment.

I have no idea who’s done this tag already, so I tag anyone who wants to do it.

If you’ve done this tag yourself, then leave a link to it in the comments so I can check it out. Who’s currently eating cake? or now craving it? 

6 thoughts on “The Blogging Secrets Book Tag

  1. Levi! *swoons* Good thing there are multiple copies of the book, I’d hate to ruin our friendship over a guy. 😉
    These posts are always fun to read. I have a feeling everyone blogs in their pjs at some point, and if they say they don’t, I will assume they’re lying. Or a really weird person who doesn’t like pjs, haha.
    Thanks for the cake! It was delicious.

    Like

  2. AWWWW. BABY BLOG. *smushes cake in your hair* No wait. I should probably just eat that cake. I’m like 99% sure you were giving me all that cake, right? RIGHT. *nods*

    I’ve actually been wondering what really defines a “successful blog” too?!?! It’s kind of not a black and white question right?! But I think having fun and being happy with your blog definitely marks success. :’)

    AUTHORS ARE SCARY. I literally never ask for interviews because they’re too awesome and fabulous. *collapses on the floor in awe*

    I LOVED READING THIS POST!! Particularly the cake…;) hehe

    Like

    1. *Gasp* Don’t waste the cake, Cait. Eat it all.

      Yes, it’s definitely tricky defining a ‘successful’ blog. I would definitely consider yours successful.

      Yes, definitely scary; when you are a famous author, you might seem scary. 😀

      Aww, thanks! *Smiles with a Cheshire Cat grin*

      Like

  3. Yay, so glad you decided to take me up on the tag! 😀 I absolutely agree with your bookish boyfriends — although it’s been a while since I’ve met Drake (and I only read the third book because logic), but Levi was such a sweetheart.

    Also, thank you for that cake. I am not eating cake right now, but I do have a slice left. In fact, I may just go for that slice.. that picture has made me hungry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

