Plot Twists and Their Subtle Hints

CH - WIN_20150922_165248

Currently, I am participating in #TLCReadAlong and for this month we read Scarlet, the second book in the ‘Lunar Chronicles’. As mentioned in my post for Cinder, I don’t really want to write reviews because I have previously wrote a overall review for the series so far, so for this month I thought I would write something about plot twists. This read-along is organised by Brittany over at The Book Addicts Guide.

You may be wondering why I’m writing about plot twists? Well, I’m not going to tell you. Haha, of course I’m going to tell you. I was strolling through twitter and came across a tweet by Brandon Sanderson, which eventually led me to a writer’s website that features podcasts by Brandon and other writers about writing. This particular podcast was about plot twists and this is where the connection between Scarlet and this podcast occurs, because as I was rereading Scarlet this podcast came to mind. Do you know why? Because in Scarlet there is a small plot twist – don’t worry I won’t reveal what it is, if you haven’t read it – and whether you saw it coming or not, it was definitely a plot twist in the sense that it was a surprise for a certain character.

While reading it for the first time back in March, I don’t remember having picked up on all the subtle hints that Meyers left throughout the book. There was definitely a certain level of suspicion that I felt and as time went on I think I started to see it coming but honestly, I was in denial I think – I didn’t want it to happen. It’s always interesting to see a characters’ reaction when they are surprised. Would you have reacted the same way? Would you have seen it coming? and don’t understand how they didn’t? Reading it for the second time, I found myself smiling because I noticed the foreshadowing and found myself thinking, I can’t believe I missed that!

Reading Scarlet for the first time was fun but reading it a second time was just as fun. Even though I knew what was going to happen, the characters in this series are amazing so it’s nice to reunite with them and see the things that I missed previously and watch as the character continues to miss them.

And of course I have to include some Thorne quotes, because there’s some really great ones.

“It was my irresistible charm that convinced you, wasn’t it?”

“Is it just me or is this a big moment in our relationship?”

“A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. ‘We’re having another moment, aren’t we?'”

“I am Captain Carswell Thorne, the owner of this fine ship, and I will not stand to have her insulted in my presence!”

Who likes a good plot twist? Whose read Scarlet? Did you see the twist coming? Do you prefer to see the twist coming or to be completely in the dark like the character?

7 thoughts on “Plot Twists and Their Subtle Hints

  1. Okay, this is embarrassing, but what plot twist are you talking about? My book amnesia is TERRIBLE.

    I don’t usually go out of my way to guess everything that’s going to happen while I’m reading. Sometimes it’s fun when I do predict things, but I also like being surprised. Maggie Stiefvater is a classic example of an author who is so great at foreshadowing, and yet I never pick up on it. I love re-reading books and picking up all the clues authors leave. However, I don’t like plot twists that completely change the direction of a story or invalidate everything I thought was true.

    Like

    1. Haha. Maybe it isn’t a big plot twist, then? SPOILER ALERT The twist involving Wolf being one of the Lunar Special Operatives. Remember?

      I love noticing things – it makes me feel clever, lol – but at the same time, I don’t want the book to seem predictable. Yes, it’s not good when a book completely changes because of the twist; the twist has to have a purpose other than to just shock people, it needs to make sense.

      Like

      1. Oh! Hmm. I’m trying to remember if I realized that ahead of time, but I don’t think I did.

        Definitely. I hate any sort of plot device that’s there solely for a shock factor or because the author doesn’t have any original ideas. Ughhh.

        Like

  2. I am the same as Maraia, I have book amnesia and can’t remember this plot twist.

    However, I am also the WORST person in terms of spotting foreshadowing haha. I predict twist mainly due to plot convention and tropes rather than via the poor author’s efforts to leave a crumb of literary clues. I AM A HORRIBLE READER.

    Like

Leave a Reply

