Authors Whose Books I Have Never Read But Would Like To.

library-425730_1280

So today I am going to list authors whose work I haven’t read, but would really like to. You know, those authors who have had multiple books published and you hear really good things about them, but you just haven’t got around to reading their work? Let the list commence…

  • James Dawson: I’m honestly not sure why I haven’t read one of James Dawsons’ books. I’ve always wanted to read a book that would scare me a little – I mean, I don’t want to be so scared that I have trouble sleeping as I really value my sleep – so I’m interested in James’ Say Her Name which includes Bloody Mary, so that may have me creeped out. Might have to read that with all the lights on and no mirrors in the room, haha.
  • Susan Dennard: I haven’t actually known of Susan Dennard for very long; if I’m correct, then Susan is a close friend of Sarah J. Maas – whom I’m a huge fan of – and this is how I heard of her, I think. There has been a lot of buzz surrounding her new upcoming book Truthwitch, and it has ‘witch’ in the title, so I’m intrigued.
  • Derek Landy: I feel as though Derek Landy has been around for a while – I could be wrong – and I’ve heard great things about his books, so I one day look forward to reading his work.
  • A.G. Howard: I really want to read Howards’ ‘Splintered’ series! I’ve heard amazing things about it and hello…it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling, so hell yes.
  • Libba Bray: It turns out, that Libba Bray actually has more books published than I realised, but the book that really put her on my radar is The Diviners.
  • Rae Carson – Okay, so it’s probably no secret that I like strong female characters, but not only have I heard nothing bad said about Rae Carsons’ books (until just a moment ago when I looked on Goodreads, where there was a couple, but there always are. Way to burst my bubble, haha), but I’ve heard good things about Elise from The Girl of Fire and Thorns and that there is character development, which I love. I really want to read this book!

Over to you, Dear Readers: have you read any of these authors work? Whose work do you long to read but haven’t yet?

4 thoughts on “Authors Whose Books I Have Never Read But Would Like To.

  1. Gahhhh, Bloody Mary used to scare me SO MUCH when I was a kid. Actually, I still get a bit jumpy when I go into bathrooms at night. I don’t even want to think about it. XD I just read I Remember You by Yrsa Sigurdardottir, and it was super creepy but in a manageable way. I really liked it.

    I couldn’t get into Susan Dennard’s first series (zombies really aren’t my think), but I’m excited for Truthwitch. Let’s hope the hype doesn’t kill my desire to read it.

    I’ve never read anything by Derek Landy. I didn’t even recognize his name.

    I read the first book in the Splintered series, but since I don’t like Alice & Wonderland or paranormal romance, I was disappointed.

    Ahhh, Libba Bray has written some great books! The Gemma Doyle trilogy is one of my favorites from high school. I would start with that one, since it’s finished, and then read The Diviners. I don’t like her other two books much, unfortunately.

    Ooh, I think you’ll love The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

    Like

    1. Haha. Every time I watch something that involves Bloody Mary, I can’t look into mirrors after and I don’t really scare that easy, but she always creeps me out. Thanks for the recs! I can’t wait to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns – I put it on my Secret Sis list though, so don’t want to buy it just in case.

      Like

  2. OMG, I am still scared to look in mirrors in the dark – I hated when ppl wanted to play Bloody Mary at sleepovers! I haven’t heard of James Dawson, but I’m intrigued! The only person I’ve read is AG Howard, and I loved the first two books in the Splintered series! I was a lot darker than I had anticipated and I actually really liked that. It’s really good, but I also wouldn’t take it super seriously because then you might be disappointed. I’ve been hearing so much about The Diviners, so I really want to read Libba Bray too! I recently heard about The Gemma Doyle series Maraia mentions, I want to check that one out sometime.

    Like

    1. Haha, she seems to have that effect on people.I actually quite like it when they make retellings quite dark – I like to see the world turned on its head. I might have to check out The Gemma Doyle series. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

