Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

CH - WIN_20150907_121749

Author: Patrick Ness
Published: Walker Books, August 2015
Pages: 343
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
5 out of 5 stars
CH - WIN_20150907_122012
Mikey and his friends just want to go to prom and graduate high school… Is that too much to ask? They each have things going on in their lives already, without all the strange things going on in town and some indie kid probably ending up blowing up the high school – again. I mean, not everyone needs to be the Chosen One…

Ever read a book where many things just resonate with you? And even the things that don’t completely resonate with you, you can still understand and empathise? The Rest of Us Just Live Here is that book for me. It’s a little difficult to collect my thoughts and to articulate what I mean… Isn’t that what usually happens after reading the best kind of book though? The one which really spoke to you and possibly brought you to tears – maybe you aren’t even sure why you cried – and touched a nerve which you didn’t even know was there to be ‘touched’ in the first place.

This is an unusual book in the sense that it is about a group of people living their normal lives, while a bunch of supernatural things are going on in the background, but I find that Patrick Ness’ books often do contain a certain unusualness and maybe I love them all the more for it… They are teenagers just trying to survive high school and hope that the high school doesn’t blow up before graduation – which actually makes me think of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Anyone remember Buffys’ graduation? All sorts of mayhem broke out on that day. We can all relate to that right? The need to just get through school and being worried – and excited – about what comes next? (Although, we don’t have to worry about the supernatural. Or do we? Anyone got anything they want to share? Haha.)

The book is filled with diversity, which is beautiful to see. Not just for the sake of diversity either; it’s realistic, because we are all different and each of us has some issue, no matter how big or small. I felt that it was a realistic portrayal of OCD, as Mikey suffers with this and I like the therapy session between Mikey and Dr. Luther.

“‘Medication.’
‘Medication…is a failure?’
‘The biggest one. Like I’m so broken, I need medical help.’
‘Cancer patients don’t call chemotherapy a failure. Diabetics don’t call insulin a failure.’
‘This is different and you know it.’
‘I don’t  know it. Why is it different?'”

Mikey’s relationship with his sisters was sweet and enviable.

“Yeah, my parents are crappy, but you hurt either of my sisters and I will spend my life finding ways to destroy you.”

The way in which the book was written with Mikey talking to you, telling the reader the story, was interesting and keeps the reader engaged with the book. Also, how you get little paragraphs at the beginning of each chapter about what is happening in the supernatural background was different and a little funny at times.

There wasn’t any of the main group of friends that I did not like. Jared was probably one of my favourites as he can be incredibly sweet and it’s beautiful and moving how he helps Mikey. Jared says something at some point about everyone not having to be the Chosen One and then later on he tells Mikey: “You’ve been the guy who saved me. Lots of times” and this made me think that no, not everyone has  to be the Chosen One, but maybe you can be someones’ Chosen One. You save them again and again and don’t even realise it. A decision Mikey makes at the end, then makes me think that maybe we can be our own Chosen One, by learning to save ourselves. (Wow. That’s deep, haha.)

It’s a struggle to find the right words to do this book justice… Maybe, the words: Go read this magnificent beauty, will just have to suffice.

CH - WIN_20150907_122200

I think this may be one of my longest reviews and I feel as though I still didn’t do it justice – just trying to sift through my thoughts, I suppose. Anyways… Who has read this incredible book? Tell me, Dear Readers: Would you be one of the indie kids or one just hoping to go to prom and graduate like Mikey and co.? Me personally… I would be fascinated with all the supernatural, but at the same time, I hate drama – and who really wants the pressure of having to save the world on their shoulders? Not me.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

  1. I always love when a book is unique and it sounds like this one is. I love the sound of characters who want to be normal and all around them bizarre things keep on happening. I actually have this one and just have yet to start with it, which I am looking forward to. It sounds like you got deeply connected with this novel!

    Like

  2. Oh man, I really want to read this!! I’m reading my very first Patrick Ness book right now, The Knife of Never Letting Go and I’m LOVING it. It’s so different from anything I’ve ever read before… I’ve heard lots of good things about this book… and about Patrick Ness in general.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed your first Ness book! (I saw that you finished it on Goodreads.) I LOVE the Chaos Walking series! Ness books tend to be a little different. You should read More Than This – you will be wondering what on earth is going on while reading it. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

