Publisher Spotlight

Publisher Spotlight (1)

As I am a Publishing graduate, I have wanted to write a post that places a focus on publishing houses; I have decided to write a post every-few-months on the publications and soon-to-be published books from a particular publisher. I will list the books that I have read and liked, future publications I like the sound of and future publications I have been looking forward to.

Its been a while since I posted the first – and only – Publisher Spotlight post, so I thought it was about time I did another one. This time I am focusing on Chicken House – mainly because I am reading an awesome book, at the moment, published by them (although, by the time this is posted, I will have finished). Lets begin…

Chicken House is a small publishing company who publish children’s books. Founded in 2000, it was then bought by Scholastic Inc. in 2005 which helped increase its international reach. (Click on the titles at the beginning of each bullet point to go through to the books’ Chicken House page.)

CH - WIN_20150822_123850

  • Hook’s Daughter by Heidi Schulz: This is the book mentioned above and I am thoroughly enjoying it. It is a Peter Pan retelling and focuses on Captain James Hooks’ daughter Jocelyn. It is a MG book and although I don’t read many MG books, the ones I have read, I have loved – including this one. Oh, how this made me laugh! I loved seeing the different elements from Peter Pan; the narrator was hilarious and Jocelyn was a great fiery character. Any book that makes me chuckle is a winner in my eyes.
  • The Maze Runner‘ series by James Dashner: I read these books…well, I’m not actually sure when I read them, but last year some time, I think, and it is a great series. You may have seen the movie which I wasn’t disappointed by and look forward to the next one. They contain interesting plots surrounding essentially, what is, a game of survival.
  • Numbers‘ series by Rachel Ward: I haven’t read this but as soon as I saw it was a book about a girl who when she looks into your eyes, she sees the date you are going to die, I was very much intrigued.
  • City of Halves by Lucy Inglis: I was sold on this one as soon as I read that there was a hidden world within London. I look forward to reading it at some point.
  • Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley: I love the cover for this book and when I saw it had ‘circus’ in the title, it made me think of The Night Circus, a book which I love. Plus it involves magic, which is all a book needs for me to read it. I look forward to it.

24292702

Tell me Dear Readers: anyone read any of these? Aren’t they beautiful covers featured above? Does anyone venture into MG books from time to time? (As a couple mentioned above are MG.) The ones that I have read are always very good.

4 thoughts on “Publisher Spotlight

  1. I’m listening to the audiobook of The Maze Runner right now and am liking it! I’m looking forward to watching the movie when I’m done. 🙂

    I don’t read much MG, either, but I did read The Wild and the Water earlier this year, because I won it in a giveaway. It’s the most gorgeous book I own, and I also enjoyed the story.

    Like

  2. I love that you feature houses like this! I have read The Maze Runner series and I loved them ❤ I also REALLY loved the numbers series by Rachel Ward. There is quite a bit of swearing in it, which is the only downer, but it is such an amazing series! You should try it. I didn't know those two books came from the same publishing house…

    Like

    1. Thank you, Olivia! I don’t want to just feature all the larger, more known, publishing houses. I’d never heard of this series by Rachel Ward before looking at Chicken House’ website, but was intrigued by it. A lot of swearing does tend to put me off, but maybe I’ll give this series a try at some point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

