The Lunar Chronicles Read-Along

CH - WIN_20150323_215414

For the next few months I will be participating in a ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ read-along – I know, I know, I just can’t stay away from ‘The Lunar Chronicles’, as I read these books as part of another read-along, but well…Winter comes out in November and I want to make sure I remember everything that happened. I wrote a review post on the whole series before – which you can find here – so I’m not going to write a traditional review, or even a recap; I thought I would instead list my favourite quotes from Cinder. This read-along is organised by Brittany over at The Book Addicts Guide. You can follow people tweeting about it with the #TLCReadAlong hashtag on Twitter. So, lets begin shall we?

“Iko craned her head, aiming the round sensor up at the prince, who towered more than three feet above her. The light flared as her scanner recognized him. ‘Prince Kai,’ she said, her metallic voice squeaking. ‘You are even more handsome in person.’
Cinder’s stomach twisted in embarrassment, even as the prince laughed.”

“Iko rolled to her side, clasping her metal grippers over her chest. ‘Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating.'”

Iko is hilarious!

“…’Oh–before I forget, Iko, I brought you something.’
Iko rolled to Peony’s side as she pulled a velvet ribbon from her bodice, leftover trim from the seamstress. The light in the room brightened when Iko saw it.
‘Thank you,’ said the android as Peony tied the ribbon around her skinny wrist joint. ‘It’s lovely.'”

I thought this was a really sweet moment. The fact that Peony thought to give a gift to an android is just so touching and sweet.

 “‘The cybernetic operation?’
‘No, the sex change.’
The doctor’s smile faltered.
‘I’m joking.'”

“‘Speaking of eye surgery, do you realize you’re missing tear ducts?’
‘What? Really? And I thought I was just emotionally withdrawn.'”

“Cinder flinched. ‘Can we please not talk about the prince?’
‘I don’t think that will be possible. You’re working on his android, after all. Just think about the things she knows, the things she’s seen and–‘ Iko’s voice sputtered. ‘Do you think she’s seen him in his pajamas? What do you think they’re like?'”

“‘I don’t want to tell you how to be a prince, but shouldn’t you have some bodyguards or something?’
‘Bodyguards? Who would want to harm a charming guy like me?'”

“‘You’re usually the prime example of royal etiquette, but you didn’t even stand up. And I was so prepared to be the gentleman and urge you to sit back down again.’
‘So sorry to steal that proud moment from you,’ she said, sinking lower in her seat.'”

“…’It grew out of the unification of many peoples, many cultures, many ideals. It was strengthened by a single enduring belief that together, we as one people are strong. We have the ability to love each other, no matter our differences. To help each other, no matter our weaknesses. We chose peace over war. Life over death…'”

I whole heartedly agree Kai. He will make an excellent emperor. I admire how much he cares for people and he wants to do the right thing. It is also refreshing and endearing at times, that he doubts his ability to lead – he is not arrogant – but he always gets on with things and tries to do his best, not letting his insecurities get in the way.

Who’s a ‘Lunar Chronicles’ fan? Anyone else participating in the read-along?

3 thoughts on “The Lunar Chronicles Read-Along

  1. Awesome!! I love your selections!
    Iko cracks me up and I really love Cinder’s dry sense of humor & sarcasm! I think that’s something that I really picked up on during my re-read and had forgotten about!
    Thanks again for joining the read along! Hope you’re having fun so far 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

