My Artsy Attempts

Ever since I was a child I have enjoyed art. When kids would colour in, I would draw the pictures instead of colouring them in – although, don’t get me wrong, I would also colour in, from time to time. When I would draw, I would become engrossed and the world would fall away. I’ve never considered myself an expert, but growing up, I suppose, I felt like this was one of the few things I was actually good at. After school I sort of let the drawing go, I don’t know why; I think maybe because I just couldn’t find the time due to all the college work and then going onto university. This is something I regret. I miss drawing. I miss looking at paintings and trying to decipher some of the meaning behind it – what was Mona Lisa really thinking behind that smile? Probably, “Will you fucking hurry up already! I have an itch that needs scratching.” (Sorry about the language.)

Often, I just find myself missing that art side of me. I miss the feel of oil pastels under my fingers and the way the colours blend together and I miss seeing a sketch come together and actually look like that which I am drawing. Although, I have wondered whether I am just too rusty, and would have forgotten how to use all art materials – it has been a really long time. I have always been envious of those talented artists whom can actually draw from their imagination though, because this is something I struggle with – I can only draw something that is in front of me. I need a visual. (Also, people are difficult to draw. I have managed it before, but it is not usually my finest work.)

I wish I had really worked at it and honed my craft – as the saying goes – but well, I often let my insecurities get in the way… Anyway, recently I drew again. It hasn’t been vast amounts, but a little, which is a start. I thought I would share them with you. Please bear in mind that I am rusty – seriously, where is the Tinman with the oil? I feel that rusty. The first is the rabbit from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, the second is Aladdin and the third is from The Hero of Ages. I do have a love of drawing characters – e.g. Disney characters, etc. Also, when I sketch, I often don’t like adding colour – more of a ‘rustic’ black and white sketch kind of girl.

CH - WIN_20150509_154345

 

CH - WIN_20150512_152605

WIN_20150509_125511         CH - WIN_20150808_151218

I’ve included the amazing cover to The Hero of Ages above with my attempt at drawing it. If you haven’t read the ‘Mistborn’ series, then you really must – such incredible books!

Okay… So I’m a little nervous now. It’s hard sharing these with other people, but its also been nice to reconnect a bit with this side of myself. Has anyone else ever lost touch with a hobby etc. and took it up again later?

9 thoughts on “My Artsy Attempts

  1. I love art but don’t feel that confident in my art too, Chantelle, but your art is amazing! :)) I highly approve of your rabbit sketch!! xD WONDERLAND FOR THE WORLD. ;’)

    Like

  2. I think it’s wonderful that you’ve started drawing again! I’ve never been an artistic person, but I do miss that sense of creativity, of creating something with your bare hands. I sometimes think I should start drawing. These are amazing, by the way! I really like Alice’s rabbit, that one’s so good!

    Like

  3. Wow, these are so great! As someone who’s terrible at drawing, I’m truly impressed. All three are amazing, but I especially love the detail in the rabbit drawing. I’m glad you shared them with us, and I hope you keep it up!

    I have quite a few hobbies I’ve let fall by wayside, and it’s too bad. The biggest one is photography, which used to be my passion. I miss the darkroom! My phone pictures are fine, but I miss traveling, I miss film, and I miss having inspiration. (Do you have Instagram, by the way? I love it, and it helps some, but I’m afraid to post any non-phone pictures on there because of theft issues.)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Maraia! Drawings are often more impressive when they contain more detail. I’m still not drawing as much as I would like, but at least I started again.

      I once considered getting into photography when I was in school, but never did. I hope you find inspiration again; it’s horrible when it disappears. No, I don’t have Instagram – I have seen people on Twitter talking about how people keep stealing their photos though.

      Like

      1. Yeah, Joséphine in particular seems to have a big problem with stealing. My account is private, so I certainly hope the people I let view it wouldn’t steal my photos! But I’m not up-to-date on Instagram’s own copyright policies, so I’m not 100% sure if I give up some of my rights by posting there.

        Like

  4. These are really good pictures! I like them a lot, and you really can draw, Chantelle. Even now you shouldn’t give up on it and keep working at it! You still have time where you can work on honing this craft… although I think you already have quite a lot under your belt yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

