Bookshelf Tag

I haven’t been officially tagged for this, but while commenting on Caits’ post Maraia suggested that I also do the tag and of course being the obliging person I am, have listened.

My bookshelves:

20150716_150014-1

20150716_145031          20150716_145252-1

20150716_115845-1   20150716_115322

Describe your bookshelf and where you got it from:

My shelves are from Ikea. The top photo is my shelf that I have above one of my bookcases, this holds a lot of my hardback books. I hate that I have to double-shelf my books; the back ones aren’t getting the attention that they deserve. The bottom left photo is a stack of books I have developing. I really am running out of space.

How do you organise your books?

I don’t really have an organisation system for my books. I haven’t really found the time to go through them and organise them a certain way. I just sort of fit as many on there as I can. Some books that belong to the same author are together, that’s about the extent of my organisation. I would like to one day organise them by colour, or publisher.

What’s the thickest/biggest book on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150716_190034
The thickest book on my shelf, I think, is City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. Look at that book; it’s huge.

What’s the thinnest book on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150716_190138

I think the thinnest book goes to Lord of the Flies, with 230 pages. By the way, I did not love this book – and I really hated Jack.

Is there a book you received as a birthday present?

CH - WIN_20150717_163658

I have received many books for birthdays, but I absolutely love the ‘Chaos Walking’ trilogy, so picked these. I’m pretty sure I received these for my birthday – it was either for Christmas or my birthday, but I think it was my birthday.

Is there a book from a friend on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150717_163813   CH - WIN_20150717_163833This was a Christmas gift from a friend and I was excited by it because it’s like nothing I’ve seen before. It’s by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst and is so unique. It is like two stories within one book, so I was unsure how to read it. It is presented as a novel by V.M. Straka, but within that novel two strangers have written annotations and it is through these annotations that another story takes place and these strangers grow closer. There is also documents and postcards loose throughout the book that adds to the story. I actually decided to read them separately, so read the novel first and then the annotations – it took a long time. What has been put together with this book is a wonderful idea, but I found myself a little lost with the Straka novel and much preferred the annotations. It is a beautiful looking book.

Most expensive book?

I have no idea… I’m honestly not really sure. I actually think the book above is probably the most expensive book on my shelf. I’m not completely sure how much it was obviously, because it was a gift, but I know it wasn’t cheap.

The last book you read on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150717_195039Does this mean a book that belongs to me on my shelf? Ketchup Clouds doesn’t belong to me, but is the last book I read. This was an up and down book for me. Review coming soon.

Do you have more than one copy of a book?

CH - WIN_20150716_190419   CH - WIN_20150716_190526
I love Fangirl so much that I bought a second copy. The salmon coloured copy is a special collectors edition that I had shipped from America; look at some of the awesome art it includes.

Do you have a complete series?

CH - WIN_20150717_164212

I have quite a few completed series, but I need to feature some Alyxandra Harvey books, because my love for them knows no bounds. This is the ‘Drake Chronicles’ which features characters I just adore. That “I survived” sign is actually from a “I survived the Bookish Games” postcard from the ladies over at Oh, the Books! I thought it fitting because they survive a lot in these books: the bloodchange, Hel-blar and more.

What’s the newest addition to your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150717_164531

I went to the library with my nan and they had some books to buy on sale. I am currently on a book buying ban – I know. I know, this is indeed sad. I have been crying a river ever since it started – it’s lucky that I know how to swim; the water’s getting high. Send a life raft in my direction please – and hurry (haha). The book buying has been rough on my bank balance, but for 30p I couldn’t resist – I didn’t actually even buy it, my nan did, so I haven’t actually broken my buying ban. Anyways…all I really know about it is that it’s about time travel and I haven’t read many books on that so thought I’d give it a try.

What’s the most recently published book on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150717_165117

This book was published in May and is the first book that came to mind. I loved this book!

The oldest book on your shelf?

CH - WIN_20150717_165407

I bought this at a book stall at one of my little sisters’ school fetes. I like to branch out a little from YA sometimes and often feel like I should read more classics. I haven’t actually read this yet. The first edition of this copy was published in the ’60s, but the original must have been a while before that, as the author is Shakespeare.

A book you won?

CH - WIN_20150717_165515

I won these in a way, by outbidding others in an auction. The Polaris Uprising  by Jennifer Ibarra and Cracks by Caroline Green were both won in the Authors for the Philippines auction.

A book you’d hate to let out of your site?

All of them! I love them all and don’t want to let any of them out of my site.

Most beat up book?

CH - WIN_20150717_165350

My books are all in good condition, really… It will probably have to be Vanity Fair by William Thackeray. I got this copy – I actually have another – at the same school fete I mentioned above. It intrigued me because it is a small leather copy and looked antiquey (that is definitely a word 😉 ).

Most pristine book?

CH - WIN_20150717_170217

My books are all pristine, of course. I chose this one though simply because of the ribbon. This is an uncorrected proof of The Universe vs. Alex Woods by Gavin Extence, which I also won in the Authors for Philippines auction.

A book from your childhood?

CH - WIN_20150717_170317

This one was sitting on the bottom of my shelf, so I chose this: a box-set of ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland’.

A book that doesn’t belong to you?

CH - WIN_20150717_195039

This is one I got out on my nans’ library card while I was there with her. I really can’t resist and seen as I’m on a book buying ban, it was even harder to resist.

A book with a special/different cover? (Leather bound, etc.)

CH - WIN_20150717_170417   CH - WIN_20150717_170450

 

 

 

 

 

This is a hardback book and is different because it’s missing part of the cover. Some bad person has gone around cutting out part of the cover – how dare they?! I really love this cover and like that it is different.

A book that is your favourite colour?

CH - WIN_20150717_170632

I have always been a colour blue person – although I also like certain shades of orange; just think of Peeta from THG – and I really like these shades of blue.

A book thats been on your shelf the longest and you still haven’t read it?

CH - WIN_20150717_170720

I have this whole series because I asked for it as a birthday or Christmas present – I forget – and actually haven’t finished reading it. This has been stuck on my Goodreads status as currently reading for a long time now. I could never quite get into it and it is very long, which didn’t help in this case. Maybe I will go back to it at some point.

Any signed books?

CH - WIN_20150717_170754   CH - WIN_20150717_170823
I have more signed books, but these ones especially are some of my prized possessions. I got Daughter of Smoke and Bone signed when I met Laini Taylor at an event – I was a totally socially awkward fruitcake while meeting her. I just did not know what to say. Dreams of Gods and Monsters came already signed as the first…3000 people, I think, to preorder it got this signed copy. It’s just beautiful!

I tag anyone who wants to do this. Go forth and take beautiful photos of your books.

What are your shelves like? Are they organised in a certain way? Have any signed books? Are you completely socially awkward when meeting authors?

9 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tag

  1. OH THIS IS BEAUTIFUL. Bookshelf tours are forever the best of the best. (I’m so glad you did this tag! :D) Ahhhh, I love that version of More Than This. SO CLEVER. I love slightly different/weird covers…like apparently the Illumanea cover is going to be AWESOME and so unique and I’m dying for it. hehe. City of Heavenly Fire is my thickest book too. BUT SO WORTH IT. OMG.

    Like

  2. Yay, I’m glad you did this tag! But I have a very important question: WHERE ARE YOUR HARRY POTTER BOOKS?!

    I’m so envious that you got to meet Laini Taylor AND have your book signed. Was she friendly in person? I’ve never met an author, but I’m sure I’d be completely awkward. My face turns bright red all the time, even if I’m not actually embarrassed. But it would be worth it! (I think? As long as there wasn’t any photographic proof of my awkwardness.)

    My shelves are organized by favorites and then by size. Harry Potter has an entire shelf. Up until I won my first giveaway earlier this year, I hadn’t actually acquired a new book since…high school, maybe? I have a lot of my old favorites but almost none of my new ones. Asti bought me The Raven Boys when she came to visit. ❤

    Like

    1. Haha, they are on my mums bookshelves, I think – I should really check.

      Yes, she was friendly. Also saw Cassandra Clare – she wasn’t talking at the event, but was just there to listen like me. I think it was Cassandra – certainly looked like her and I’m sure I heard someone mention her name. Asti might remember, as she was there as well. My face tends to turn red as well for no reason sometimes – it’s annoying.

      The Raven Boys is awesome! That was a great choice for Asti to get.

      Like

      1. Phew, I was worried. 😉

        Gahhh, if someone invents a cure for the dreaded red face, I will…erm…bake them a cake? Give them a list of book recommendations?

        Aside from the few I follow on Twitter, I don’t know if I would even recognize a famous author.

        Yes, she took it off my secret sister wishlist. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I just love this tag! I read Ketchup Clouds and I actually really liked it! I am curious to see your review coming up. You’re bookshelves are so neat and tidy, I just love them! And I spy quite a few good books on them as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

