Surprise? or No Surprise?

This post is inspired by my mum, today, due to her habit of reading the ending of books first. Now, I just do not understand this. I don’t get why anyone would want to spoil the ending of a book. I’m all about the journey with books; I don’t want to know the ending before I see how they get there. I suppose there are still possible twists and turns that you will discover while reading the rest of the book, but I still don’t want to know how it actually all ends.

smiley-150600_1280
I want to be surprised and shocked like the face above. This has probably been my expression at times, haha.

I’m not saying I’m never tempted to skip to the ending and see what happens, once I have actually started reading – the suspense can be torturous sometimes and you find yourself just itching to know what happens – but I’ve never read the ending first, before anything else. For me – especially with certain books – I don’t think I would necessarily enjoy the book as much. For example, We Were Liars has a big twist and I think if I had read the ending first and known this twist, I’m not so sure it would have had the same impact on me. If I remember correctly, I sobbed once I read the twistย and feel as though I wouldn’t have had this reaction if I already knew the ending – so no spoiling the twist for others, people, or you’ll get no cake. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll admit I have skipped a few pages ahead, or to the next chapter and skimmed the pages to see a bit of what happened, just because I can’t stand not knowing any longer.

Maybe it’s just me: maybe it is possible to read the ending first and still thoroughly enjoy the book. My mum manages to still enjoy books – she is actually reading ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ at the moment and loving it. I’m so proud, haha. I keep shoving books at her, saying “Read this.” She did start it by asking for a book to read as she has run out of books; it started withย Fangirl, which she also loved – she has good taste – and continued with me giving her Cinder. Anyway, I have digressed a little… I suppose what I’m wondering is: are there others out there who read the ending first?

Come on, confess people: who has read the ending first? Or skipped ahead a few pages to see what happens? Anyone?ย 

19 thoughts on “Surprise? or No Surprise?

  1. OH MY GOSH. YOUR MUM READS THE END FIRST. HOW. WHY. I COULD NEVER DO THAT. I’ll confess to sometimes flipping through a book and accidentally reading a spoiler (I HATE it when that happens…) but I don’t think I’d ever do that on purpose. Like you, I WANT to be surprised. Especially if I’m reading a mystery/thriller.

    Like

    1. Haha, yes. I just think she doesn’t like surprises. She can’t wait to find out the ending. She is the same with TV shows; if I’ve seen an episode before her and mention that it was really good, then she wants to know what happened, lol.

      Like

  2. OH MY GOD, both my dad and one of my best friends do this too, and I DON’T UNDERSTAND. Yes, we can be tempted. Yes, we might peek ahead to the end of the next page or perhaps the next chapter, but to actually read the ending? What?! NOPE. This might be hypocritical, considering that I have no problem re-reading books over and over again, but to me it seems completely different. You never get back the magic of reading something for the first time. I’m trying to imagine right now if I had read the end of Order of the Phoenix or Half-Blood Prince first. Would I have been able to go back and read the books, knowing what doom awaited some of my favorite characters? My dad and friend both say it makes reading less stressful, but I don’t know, maybe I sort of enjoy that stress of not knowing what’s going to happen next. (Only in this situation, though, haha.) I’m often rather terrible at predicting things, so it’s not hard to surprise me.

    Also, growing up my dad had a habit of reading the ending of whatever book *I* was reading, which was even more obnoxious. I do love pushing books on him, though. I’m glad your mom is open to suggestions as well.

    Like

    1. Haha, I told my mum that she is not alone in the reading of the ending first. I think rereading is definitely different because it can’t be helped that you already know the ending – unless you know Hermione, and she can do that memory spell ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  3. I used to peek at the end first when I was younger all the time. It ruins the reading experience but I couldn’t help it. But now I read on a kindle and I can’t do so easily anymore, thank goodness.

    Like

  4. I’ve skipped to the end a few times, but usually it happens when I know I can’t finish the book in the time that I have, but I’m too stressed to let it go. I can’t be thinking about the book the entire time I’m trying to work and be all distracted, so if I can get rid of some of that anxiety by getting a sneak peek at the end, I do it!

    Like

  5. I have to admit that I have occasionally read the end first. I especially did this when I was young and I just couldn’t stand not knowing whether my favourite character would survive. So I would leaf through the ending and see if they were still there ๐Ÿ˜€

    I haven’t done it in a very long time though, I usually prefer to read the book as intended, haha

    Like

  6. I have never skipped to the end. The suspense of not knowing what comes next is one of my favourite parts of reading. So when I look to see how many pages there are in a book, and I accidentally read the end, I feel SO SAD. I don’t want to know ANYTHING that happens, because then it’s kind of like … why read the middle bit? It all leads to that end, and now it’s ruined …

    I have skipped ahead a few pages (like to find out if my ship kisses HAHA), but that’s as far as it gets for me. I love the suspense of reading books, and the feeling of not knowing. It’s enticing! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  7. I never skip ahead or read the ending first. Sure it’s about the journey, but I still prefer to follow the journey form beginnign to end before I know the end. When re-reading you already know the twists, but that’s okay. The first time I read a book though I won’t skip ahead or read the ending. I never udnestood why peoepl do that, although maybe it adds excitedment to the story for them?

    Like

    1. I think there are probably more people who don’t read the ending first, so we’re not alone in feeling this way. I don’t know, maybe it does add excitement…
      Thanks so much for commenting, Lola! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. Noooo, you can’t read the ending first! That ruins everything for me. I want to have the story build up and not be able to predict where it ends. I find that if I can predict something and it actually happens, it’s a lot more boring for me.

    It’s different when I re-read something. But overall, I want to be surprised.

    Like

  9. I am someone who never reads the ending of a book! I just don’t see why you would do it, and to be honest the thought of should I do that never really crosses my mind as I am reading. I don’t even see it as a possibility ahaha xD I can see why some would do it, but if a book is predictable in any way there is an 80% chance I am actually going to dislike it xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

