Appreciation Day

It has been almost six months since I started blogging and in that time my confidence has grown when it comes to talking to people and commenting on other blogs – miracles do happen. The blogging community is a friendly community and I thought today I’d show some appreciation for those people whom have taken the time to read what I’ve written and to speak to me.

First of all, a big thanks to ANYONE who has read my blog, commented, liked a post or spoken to me on Twitter. It is difficult to mention everyone, but I don’t want anyone to feel left out so a huge thank you to you all. Have a virtual flower.

yellow-715540_1280

The vast majority of people who visit book blogs and comment are other bloggers, but you may have seen a fellow bookworm roaming the book blogosphere, whom isn’t a blogger but a fellow passionate reader. Know who I’m talking about? This wonderful person is Maraia. Maraia has become a regular visitor here at Oh, the Stories You’ll Know and is very active on Twitter and actually talks to you. I know: gasp, right? So that’s what Twitter’s for. πŸ˜‰ (I have gotten better at talking to people.) She always leaves great comments and a conversation gets started. Also, I happened to mention on Twitter that I was in the mood to read a contemporary and she sent me a list of contemporary recommendations on Goodreads – seriously, how nice is that? As well as book recommendations, Maraia also offered to send me gluten-free recipes, because I was looking for some. I thank you, Maraia, for taking the time to read this socially awkward persons’ blog and well…just for talking to me. You deserve all the cake in the world.

Your Majesty, Queen Cait at Paper Fury. (See, Cait? I used a royal title. I know you wish for world domination. Would you prefer Empress Cait? or is Queen Cait, okay?) Thank you for being your hilarious self! I’m always guaranteed to laugh when I read your blog and it’s always a bright spot in my day. OMG, I’m going all soppy. What has happened to me?! I know you’re very busy with all your royal duties, so thank you for commenting, replying to all my comments and for the origami tip – I’ve improved a bit, due to your advice, but I still can’t get them perfect. Look to the sky, a dragon’s on it’s way to you – because every ruler needs a dragon.

Asti. If it wasn’t for Asti from at Oh, the Books!, I wouldn’t even have thought to start a book blog. Blogging can be stressful and is certainly time consuming, but it also brings me joy; I have found something I enjoy doing and that’s important, so thank you Asti. Now get your arse back to the UK! There may be chocolate waiting for you. πŸ˜‰

A few others that I would like to thank are:

Olivia @ Olivia’s Catastrophe
Megan @ Adrift on Vulcan
Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer
Inge @ Bookshelf Reflections
Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity (Yay for Merlin! Anyone who loves Merlin like I do, belongs on this list πŸ™‚ )

Again, thank you to everyone for taking the time to read and comment on my little blog. It means a lot. Now, everyone have some virtual cake and a cookie for my cake hating friend Asti.

cupcakes-690040_1280

cake-648459_1280
I love macaroons!

cookies-611119_1280

23 thoughts on “Appreciation Day

  1. OMGGG YOU LOVELY WONDERFUL FANTASTIC PERSON. YOU JUST MADE MY DAY. OMG. Ahem. *flips hair regally* Yes Majesty is quite fine, so is Empress, World Ruler, and Queen Of All. Dragons is also accepted. Also cake *gobbles it all*
    But afjdlksa you are a wonderful blogger and I love reading your posts and I just realised that I’m not actually following your blog. *GASSSSP* SO I HAVE FIXED THAT IMMEDIATELY. Thank you for your super fantastic comments on my blog, too!! <333

    *Whispers* Maraia is super FANTASTIC.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the mention, Chantelle! I always enjoy reading what you write and I hope you’ll continue for many more months. Congratulations on your half-a-year-blogoversary! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Empress Cait? No. No. No. No! Cait should be demoted!
    Also, those cookies look delicious!

    Congrats on blogging for almost six months! Has it been that long? Man, does time fly these days!

    Like

    1. Hahaha. Not sure how Cait would feel about that. Do I feel a duel coming? Do you want to challenge Cait for the crown? πŸ˜‰ They do, don’t they? Makes me hungry.

      Thank you! Yes, time flies. Thanks for commenting, Karolina! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Chocolate may be waiting for me? You should’ve told me sooner. I would’ve booked my tickets earlier πŸ˜‰

    Congrats on blogging for almost six months. It doesn’t actually seem like it’s been that long. I think it’s great though and I love that you’ve come to appreciate this book blogosphere as much as I do. I know before you found it all a bit weird, how people can get so connected just from blogs and whatnot, but now you have first-hand experience of it all so yay.

    Thanks for remembering I’m a cake-hating person and offering cookies. Can’t wait to meet up next month!

    Like

    1. Haha. Darn it! I should have thought of that: offer you chocolate and you come running πŸ˜‰

      Thank you! I know, it doesn’t does it? I think, I was just ignorant (I don’t like this word) – I didn’t really realise there was a book blogging community and how big it was.

      How could I forget that you don’t like cake? – I don’t understand it, so of course I’ll remember πŸ˜€ I’m looking forward to it as well! Do you want a large chocolate bar or a small one? I know that you’re trying to eat healthy.

      Like

  5. Awww, Chantelle, this was such a nice surprise to read. πŸ˜€ I’m so glad I found your blog (or you found me?), because I’ve really enjoyed your posts and then actually discussing them with you. Congratulations on reaching 6 months! I think that’s the biggest hurdle. Now you have an idea of how running a blog works, a loyal fanbase, and you’re getting more comfortable on Twitter. (Twitter is still scary, as much as I love it.) Here’s to many more months of great posts and conversation!

    P.S. I’m not sure I’ve ever actually tried a French macaroon. I admit, the vibrant colors kind of freka me out. πŸ˜›

    Like

  6. Aww, I’m glad. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I wish I knew more about the technical side of running a blog, but I’ve gotten used to posting regularly. Aww, thank you – I look forward to more conversation as well. πŸ™‚

    Haha. They taste good! I love all the different flavours. It’s just food colouring πŸ˜€ I actually had the best macaroons while I was in Turkey.

    Like

      1. YES! I’VE BEEN TO TURKEY! Lol. I went a few years ago. It was great, mainly because of the hotel. It was my little slice of paradise. There wasn’t too much to do in the area I was staying in. It was a relaxing holiday; I read, drank the best hot chocolate I have had, and took part in activities such as archery – Katniss Everdeen watch out, lol. Got a great deal on an amazing all inclusive all adult hotel. They give you welcome drinks and macaroons on arrival and leaving.

        Like

  7. YAY for six months! I still remember when my blog turned 0.5 years old πŸ˜€ It feels so awesome because you’re so close to the one year mark, and then everything feels so real and cemented and you’ve totally stuck to it! I’m super glad you’re enjoying the book blogging community – it really can be such a lovely place.

    Thank you for the mention, dear! Merlinites must band together with our love for the show ^.^

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for mentioning me here! I actually read this ages ago when I saw it on twitter but I was away and getting access to a laptop to comment was tricky (I don’t do anything on my mobile). But WE appreciate you JUST as much! ❀ You're always so lovely, doing so much commenting and fun to talk to in general! It was so great meeting you through the FFreadathon and I am so glad that I did ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

