Book Boyfriends? What About Book Girlfriends? or Book Best Friends?

book-623163_1280

The title really does give away what this post is all about today: Where all those book girlfriends and book best friends at? Book boyfriends are awesome! I’m not really one to openly gush about guys, but I will mention who my favourites are, if it comes up in conversation – lets face it: fictional guys are often better than real life ones. I love seeing peoples’ lists of who their favourites are – it’s quite fascinating to see who people are drawn to – but where are the book girlfriends, for all the girls and guys that are into girls? Or the book best friends?

We can all agree that diversity is important and this is often spoken about in regards to book content, but it recently occurred to me that this talking point in the blogging world isn’t as diverse as it could be. By no means, am I saying that people shouldn’t blog about book boyfriends – everyone should know about the awesome that is Levi from Fangirl, or the Drake brothers from the ‘Drake Chronicles’ – but it would also be nice to hear about other lists.

First of all, the thought has occurred to me that if there is a book girlfriend list made by a boy then someone may bring up an argument against it in relation to sexism – I’m a feminist, so these things occur to me – but I think that as long as it is done tastefully and focuses on a girls’ personality and not how they’re described looks wise, then it should be okay. It’s only fair right? The vast amount of the time, us girls seem more concerned with who the character is; how they treat the people around them, instead of focusing on looks – yes, it does get mentioned, of course, but what also gets mentioned sometimes, is how we can get tired of all the perfect looking people. This post though, actually occurred to me because I thought about the girls out there whom aren’t into boys, but girls. Yes, it may be difficult for straight people out there to make a list of book girlfriends, but surely there are gay bloggers out there, so feel free to join in and make your lists – only if you want to, of course.

As I’m writing this, it has occurred to me that we do write about female book heroines, so maybe this is a version of book girlfriends…? You can still get girl crushes if you’re a straight person – I really hate all these labels, by the way – so maybe we could write about that? I’ve actually got an upcoming post about a TV character that I have a girl crush on, because she is just all kinds of awesome – I greatly admire her.

On to another related matter: book best friends. I’m sure I have seen people mention before that there is often a lack of true friendships in books – often between a girl and a boy; they can just be friends, people – and I am inclined to agree. Good friendship is important to me. I’m not one of those people with tons of friends, but one whom gets on with almost everyone, but has a few really good friends. I’m socially awkward, so it’s hard for me people – trust me, I ain’t lying; my brain often goes blank and I have no idea what to say. I really don’t do small talk. However, there really are some great friendships and characters in books that I would love to be friends with. Here’s a list for all you list loving people out there:

  • Lucy and Solange from the ‘Drake Chronicles’ by Alyxandra Harvey – I’m currently rereading this series and man, I have missed these characters! Lucy and Solange would fight to the death for each other. I can probably relate to Solange more, just because she is the quieter of the two, but I adore Lucy. She makes me laugh so much. She is this quirky, loony ball of fire and energy – I would love to have her as my friend.
  • Noah from All Fall Down by Ally Carter – Noah is adorable! He’s funny and always there for Grace when she needs him – see, boy and girl just being friends. I’ve noticed how I’m always drawn to people who make me laugh – sense of humor for the win. I don’t see how someone can read this book and come away not liking Noah. He’s awesome! Don’t disagree with me on this – well you can, but don’t. Okay? 😉
  • ‘The Raven Cycle’ series by Maggie Stiefvater – This is a series about supernatural goings on, but at the heart of it, it is a story about friendship. I’ve said this many times now: I want to be part of their group. Be my friend please. Wow, that isn’t desperate, is it?
  • ‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling – This wouldn’t be a list of best friends, if it didn’t include the three amigos, Harry, Ron and Hermione. I don’t really need to say much here, do I?
  • ‘The Lotus War’ series by Jay Kristoff – This is an interesting one, because it features one best friend, whom isn’t actually human. Buruu and Yukiko are best friends; Buruu is an Arashitora, which is like a Griffin I think and Yukiko is able to talk to him and understand him via her mind, and… I want a Buruu, okay. Their friendship is sweet and so so funny.

I shall leave the list there, because this has become a really long post now. My point is, I think, that it is nice to see alternative lists every now and then. So, people, keep making your lists and don’t be afraid to create some new and different lists. Go forth, my friends.

What do you think, Dear Readers: Would you like to see some other lists? Am I missing all these lists out there? Because, of course, I haven’t seen every blog post out there. Got a favourite book boyfriend? Girlfriend? Best friend? Let me know.

17 thoughts on “Book Boyfriends? What About Book Girlfriends? or Book Best Friends?

  1. Hey!!! This is just a really, really good idea and a very cute post! I don’t like labels, either, but I love that diversity becomes more popular in YA literature (especially in YA) as more books get published with LGBTQ+ characters or simply characters or themes that do not conform with the norm. Even more interesting that – at least as far as I have noticed – book blogging has not really picked up on that. As you said, no list of book girlfriends the gay crowd is rooting for and generally not enough boys to talk about YA online 😀 So, thanks so much for the post! Will definitely try and incorporate these things more! Also, my favorite friendship in YA (besides Harry Potter maybe is that of Halley and Scarlett in Sarah Dessen’s Someone Like You! I read it years ago, but it was the first book that came to my mind when I read your post!

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you so much Laura! That’s so good to hear. 🙂 Yes, it is great that diversity in YA literature has grown; this is important to broaden people’s mindsets, I think. The blogging community talk about diversity and root for it – I often see a lot of this on social media by bloggers – but despite this, I have never seen an alternative to book boyfriends etc.

      I haven’t read Someone Like You, or any Sarah Dessen book, but I have heard good things.

      Thanks so much for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love this post! In addition to my book boyfriend list, I also have one for characters I’d want to be/be best friends with. (Harry Potter is on both lists. I would love to be him, even if it meant being a guy, hahaha.)

    I actually don’t think girls are necessarily any less shallow in their book boyfriend lists than guys would be in their girlfriend lists. There are plenty of hot, one-dimensional male love interests out there. Also, in real life, you have to actually get along with a person to date them (hopefully), but in the book world, you can be as superficial as you want. As you said, it’s very likely that a guy making a book girlfriend list would result in sexism accusations, but I really don’t see how it’s any different. Lists like those are inherently shallow, you know?

    Also, YES, I am totally on the same page as you with small talk. I’m terrible at it. In person and also online/via text. I try, but my brain goes blank and I can’t figure out how to keep up conversations. It’s hard to create new friendships without that skill, and I wish I were better at it.

    Tamora Pierce and JKR write some of my favorite characters. I would LOVE to be or be friends with Harry, Ron, Hermione, Luna, Ginny, Alanna, Keladry, or Daine. They’re awesome.

    Like

    1. THANK YOU! 🙂 Haha, you could be called Harriet 😉

      True, there is certainly a shallow element to the book boyfriend lists…. I’ve never actually compiled a list, myself, but it’s often a guys’ personality that wins me over – he has to care and usually a sense of humour will always reel me in – so that’s not shallow right? Please, Maraia, tell me I’m not shallow! 😉

      Ugh, small talk is awful! It’s good to know I’m not the only one whom is no good at it. Luna would be an interesting person to know.

      Like

    2. Hahahaha, I’ll take it. 😀

      Yes, I agree. I love book boys with a sense of humor who are actually NICE, especially if they’re nerdy. You don’t sound shallow at all! I don’t know about you, but I don’t necessarily pay attention to the physical descriptions of characters in books. I don’t think I really even picture them while I read, and if I do, I usually realize that I’m picturing a different hair color, etc.

      I started my list after seeing one on YA Crush, one of the first book blogs I ever discovered. Now that I think about it, though, I don’t really know what the *point* of the list is.

      Like

  3. I don’t really have any book boyfriends right now. I know it’s kinda strange, but I just never really thought about dating any of the guys in the books I read – maybe because I read mostly fantasy or sci-fi with weird settings I would never want to live in? Since joining the online book community recently, I’ve definitely heard more about book boyfriends and now its something I think about while I’m reading. I definitely feel like there isn’t enough true friendships in books anymore. A book that comes to mind the Throne of Glass for Celaena and Nehemiah 😀

    Like

    1. No, it’s not strange at all. I don’t really have a list either – although there are a few characters that come to mind. If only they were real… 😀 I love Throne of Glass! I can relate to Celaena a little, because I feel as though she doesn’t have an abundance of really close friends, but the ones she does have, she truly values.

      Like

  4. My book boyfriends are mostly from the Harry Potter series, haha — the Weasley twins, Sirius Black, and Remus Lupin. There’s also Uncle Mort from the Croak trilogy by Gina Damico. I’m a little weird that way.

    I actually used to have a shelf on Goodreads called “friendship never eeeends” — yes, that is a Spice Girls quote — to appreciate all the true friendships in the books I read, because there was always such a heavy emphasis on romance. I love a good friendship where there’s no romantic tension and you can just hang out, watch movies, and insult each other.

    Like

      1. Hahaha maaaybe.. *whistles* It was a total coincidence though. They’re usually just funnier! I tend to go for the funny guys.

        Like

  5. I’m actually one of the few people who don’t blog about “book boyfriends”. HAHA. I JUST AM SO LAME. I joke, I joke. 😉 I just…don’t. I fall in love with bookish boys, I guess, but I ship them with the GIRL (or boy) in the book!! Not me. So yes, that’s my reasoning. Bookish best friends tho? Omg. *rolls out a list two kilometres long* I HAVE A LOT. Most particularly Cath from Fangirl, Ronan from The Raven Boys (he’d probs hate me though), Shazi from The Wrath and the Dawn, Sam from Shiver, Simon from City of Bones, and Katniss from The Hunger Games. ❤

    Like

    1. Lame? Never! 😀 Haha, doesn’t Ronan act like he hates everyone though? Deep down he would love you really. Katniss would be interesting as a friend – actually… I think we are a little similar. We’re both kind of socially awkward – if only I was as good with a bow and arrow. 😀

      Like

  6. Fantastic post! I don’t really have book boyfriends to be quite honest – when people ask me I name Lila from ADSOM instead – she is the best – if she was real I would absolutely elope XD!

    Like

  7. I’m going to be honest here, I am someone who has quite a lot of book boyfriends! But I do have book girlfriends sometimes as well, and some girls from books I would really like to meet and simply hang out with as well, although in YA I would label some of the girls as similar as well. But I guess the same goes for guys on that level.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

