Double Mini Reviews: Pitch Perfect 2 and The Grand Budapest Hotel

Pitch Perfect 2

Pitch Perfect 2 sees the Bellas suspended from many a capella activities due to a mishap that took place while performing for the President of the United States. In true Pitch Perfect form, it is completely blown out of proportion and the girls are punished for a mistake – although, Amy, next time wear underwear. Haha, enough said there.

However, their suspension does not prevent them from performing at Worlds and this is what we see them preparing for. If they win Worlds then they get reinstated. (I personally think John Smith, the a capella commentator should be suspended for being incredibly offensive.) In amongst all the preparation for Worlds, there is budding romance, friendships and the dilemmas that come with: What will I do after graduation?

Just like the first movie, I found the second hilarious at times; sometimes it is just so ridiculous – maybe too ridiculous – but I couldn’t help but laugh. (Rebel Wilson cracks me up laughing.) But what I really liked was the friendship. There are struggles and fears come to the surface which gets in the way and causes a little friction, but ultimately it is about their love for one another. There is a camp fire scene that I found really touching and the last song and performance at Worlds was really sweet.

movie animated GIF
Source

All in all, I enjoyed this movie.

4 out of 5 stars.

The Grand Budapest Hotel

So, every once in a while, I will buy a movie that I hope to like but sadly do not. This time it was The Grand Budapest HotelThe Grand Budapest Hotel focuses on a hotel during the time that M. Gustave (Ralph Fiennes) worked there and the adventures that went on.

Let me begin with what I liked about this movie. Firstly, I admired the artistry. I may not have loved this movie, but I can appreciate art when I see it. I suppose “Grand” in the title is quite apt, as there is something grand about this movie. The visual aspect of the movie was beautifully done.

Secondly, Fiennes performance. His performance was my favourite; I feel as though he acted this role extremely well. Throughout this movie you will see a number of well known actors and actresses pop up – there’s quite an assemble.

Thirdly, there’s baked goods. Yes, that’s right. There’s a baker and baked goodies. Yum!

The main thing that bothered me with this movie is the plot, I think. I found myself getting bored at times and I don’t know…I just found it a little silly. I just didn’t get it, I suppose.

Visually beautiful but sadly disappointing as a whole.

3 out of 5 stars.

the grand budapest hotel animated GIF
Source

Have you seen these movies? What did you think? Do you want to see them?

4 thoughts on “Double Mini Reviews: Pitch Perfect 2 and The Grand Budapest Hotel

  1. I’m looking forward to Pitch Perfect 2, because the first one made me laugh a lot.

    I don’t watch many movies, especially during the summer, but I have seen The Grand Budapest Hotel. I was (not surprisingly, actually) unimpressed. Not only did I find it completely boring, but (again, not surprisingly) it also seemed to be one of those indie films that tries SO HARD to be “different.” Well, it certainly was different, but I wouldn’t say that’s a good thing.

    Like

    1. I love to go to the cinema – it’s great to just get out of your own head for a couple of hours. Yes, I get what you mean by some indie movies trying too hard to be different. Maybe this is what puts me off some movies… Sometimes I’ll watch an indie movie and think, I don’t get it. Is it just me?

      Like

  2. I actually really want to see Pitch Perfect 2 now. I recently rewatched the first one and wasn’t so excited for the sequel because I thought it was going to be the same thing as the first one, just sort of rewritten and slapped together for money. I am so glad to hear it is not like that and also has it’s own kind of plot! Even if the movie would be rubbish, I would still go and see it for the music though. Because I love acapella singing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

