Movie Review: Jurassic World

dinosaur-14543_640

Jurassic World sees the return of a new dinosaur theme park – this time it actually made it to the open-to-the-public stage – and in true ‘Jurassic Park’ fashion, something goes horribly wrong.

I. Loved. This. Movie! I’ve seen all the ‘Jurassic Park’ movies – and sadly they weren’t all as good as the first – and in my opinion this one surpassed the others. A big part of that is because there is a relationship between humans and dinosaurs in this one, which adds more depth. I dare you to come away from this movie not having felt something for the dinosaurs. I want a Velociraptor now – I can remember all their names. Chris Pratt’s relationship with the ‘raptors was sweet and endearing. Pratt plays Owen, an ex Navy man who trains the ‘raptors and really seems to understand the animals. He was their Alpha and there was a real mutual respect between them. I wasn’t sure if I would like a ‘Jurassic Park’ movie without Sam Neill – because lets face it: he is the original movie dinosaur man – but Chris Pratt did just fine. Pratt driving a motorcycle amongst his pack of ‘raptors: so cool.

Yes, it’s true that it’s a little predictable because as per usual, it contains something going horribly wrong – people can be so arrogant in thinking they can control something which they really can’t – and kids are part of the storyline. Despite this predictability – although, are you really surprised? – it is a gripping movie, with some great action scenes. I have heard that some have said it’s a little misogynistic, but I’m not so sure I completely see this. Yes, it is a little clichéd because the woman in charge is a woman whom doesn’t seem to be very maternal and is a control freak – she does get better. Am I missing what others are seeing? I’m a feminist and usually pick up on these things.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and the performances.

4.5 out of 5 stars.

Anyone else seen Jurassic World? Are you a fan of the ‘Jurassic Park’ movies? Who else wants a Velociraptor? 

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Jurassic World

  1. I am so glad you were able to love this one! Jurassic Park movies have been a part of my childhood and are ingrained in my family, so we are all going to watch this one as a family together in the cinema. I have to wait until the summer so my sisters can be with us because they study abroad for university, but this seems like one which is good enough to wait for, and I love the sound of it!

    Like

    1. It’s a shame you have to wait, but is sweet that you all watch it as a family. I hope you all enjoy it! I wonder if you end up rooting for some of the dinosaurs, like I did. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

