All Around the World

globe-691770_1280

I thought I would share with you today something I have come to enjoy about blogging: I like to see that map light up. Are you wondering what map I am speaking of? Well, hold on just one moment and I’ll tell you… I don’t know what it is like with other blogging platforms, but WordPress shows you a map on the Stats page and lights up the different countries that people have visited your blog from.

I love to see different countries highlighted on the map. I don’t know why I like this so much…just that I find it fascinating to see the different countries around the world that people are reading my blog from. Maybe it stems from my love of traveling – which, folks, sadly doesn’t happen too often due to being expensive – and this is as close as I can get to other countries… I don’t know.

Every time I see a new country highlighted, my first reaction is: Ooh, cool! Of course, it’s likely that some of these people stumbled on to my blog by accident, but I can still check that country off on the map. These are the countries that have been highlighted so far (I’ll try not to miss any out. I have also tried to put the names of countries in one of the colours from their flag):

  1. United Kingdom
  2. United States
  3. Australia
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Saudi Arabia
  6. Brazil
  7. Belgium
  8. Germany
  9. Singaporemap-of-the-world-429784_1280
  10. Netherlands
  11. Malaysia
  12. Romania
  13. Hong Kong
  14. Greece
  15. Canada
  16. Philippines
  17. New Zealand
  18. VenezuelaΒ 
  19. Spain
  20. Pakistan
  21. India
  22. Hungary
  23. Thailand
  24. Russia
  25. Israel
  26. Ireland
  27. France

I enjoy getting to talk to people from other countries and am always surprised when another country pops up highlighted, and may it continue.

So, tell me Dear Readers: Do you also have a map on your Stats page? Do you like seeing all the different countries that people visit your blog from? What country are you reading this from right now?Β 

13 thoughts on “All Around the World

  1. I love this post! I absolutely love maps and traveling and meeting people from around this world, and it’s so cool that you can actually track your blog visitors! (Although I am a little creeped out, haha.) I can’t believe how many countries you have on that list. It makes you wonder how someone from Sri Lanka, for example, stumbled across your site. For all its faults, the Internet is pretty amazing.

    Have you actually talked to people from a lot of those countries via comments, or are most of them just page views?

    Maybe it’s a good thing I don’t have a blog, because I would probably spend hours thinking about this and looking at the map, haha.

    I’m writing this from Virginia, where I’m visiting family, but I’m from the Midwest. Where are you from?

    Like

    1. Aw, thanks Maraia! Creepy? Of course not πŸ˜‰ I don’t always know which country each person are from that I talk to, but sometimes it’s not difficult to work out – especially as I’m a new blogger so don’t have a huge following.

      I know, I don’t actually know how some people stumble onto my blog. I think I actually know whom the person from Sri Lanka is, because I’ve commented on her blog before and that’s how she found my blog and commented.

      Some are only page views – which I really appreciate – and some people comment, which I love! It’s awesome when people take the time to comment πŸ™‚ Haha, it’s true that it can be easy to become a bit obsessed with all the stats and then you wonder why some people aren’t commenting. Is it because my posts aren’t good enough? I know it’s just my own insecurities; some people may have ended up on my blog by accident or just not have time to comment etc. I do try to distance myself from the stats but will always notice a new country highlighted on the map.

      Ooh, where in the Midwest are you from? I’m from the UK (London).

      Like

      1. So I guess the question is, how did YOU find a blog from Sri Lanka?

        Yeah, I can see why it would be hard not to notice that kind of thing. I actually think it’s an advantage in some ways to not have a big following, though. If I were a blogger, I would want to actually have conversations with my readers and get to know them, which the huge bloggers don’t seem to have time for. When I first started reading blogs, I didn’t feel comfortable enough to comment, because I’m just some random person who doesn’t even have her own blog. I eventually started by commenting on posts that asked direct questions at the end, because it made me feel as if the bloggers were actually interested in what other people have to say (an impression I definitely don’t get from every blog/blogger). I will occasionally comment on the huge blogs if I *really* have something to say, but otherwise I limit my commenting to bloggers I know will comment back or ones I’ve gotten to know via Twitter (you!). Otherwise, there’s really no point, is there? When I find a new blog, I always look back at old posts to check if the blogger ever responds to comments. I also see if the blogger asks questions at the end of posts, inviting the readers to join the conversation. Anyways, that’s a long-winded way of saying that 1) I really appreciate you taking the time to comment back! and 2) if you keep replying to the people who do comment, I think slowly you’ll build up a following of people who genuinely want to talk to you. A lot of people are only interested in numbers and views, but they aren’t worth worrying about. πŸ™‚

        I’ve never been to London (or anywhere in the UK)! Have you been to the U.S.? I’m from Michigan, which is a much cooler state that people seem to think. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, I think I actually found her blog through another blog.

        I suppose there are pros and cons to both small and big blogs. I do feel pressure to reply to every comment, because I don’t want people to think I don’t appreciate their comments; if I were to develop a large following, that pressure would increase, so yes, a smaller following is definitely a pro in that way. I was really hesitant to comment on people’s blogs in the beginning, because I felt like such a stranger – which I was – but you’ve got to start somewhere. I like it when bloggers respond to my comments, but do have to remind myself that they are probably busy so may find it difficult to reply to every comment.

        Aw, thank you Maraia! I really appreciate you being a regular reader and commenting! πŸ™‚

        I have been to the US. I feel as though it’s a little cliche because I went to Las Vegas. I really enjoyed myself – it was a present for my 21st. I don’t know much about Michigan, but I’m sure it’s an awesome place. πŸ™‚

        Like

      3. I hope you don’t feel obligated to respond to my comments. I know I can be wordy! I love getting replies, obviously, but I definitely don’t want to add to the pressure.

        Hahaha, I’m glad you enjoyed Vegas, but I hope you won’t judge the entire country by that alone. πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. Oh, I didn’t even realise this was a thing, but it sounds amazing! I’m gonna go look for it on our blog right now πŸ˜€ It’s amazing to see so many countries light up, look at where people are reading your blog! By the way, I’m reading this from Belgium, hello! *waves*

    Like

    1. I know, right? Countries show up that are so unexpected – it’s such a pleasant surprise when another country is highlighted.

      HELLOOO BELGIUM! *waves* Did you hear that all the way
      in Belgium? πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. I have a map on my page and sometimes it is intriguing to see all the different places! There are those I expect like Britain and the US, but then there are some I wouldn’t have predicted ever getting views from. And yet my place of internet can reach people internationally, and that is such a nice thought. *Waves from the Netherlands to you*

    Like

Leave a Reply

