Book Review: Trees

WIN_20150520_112827

Author(s): Warren Ellis and Jason Howard (Illustrator)
Published: Image Comics, 2015
Pages: 160
Genre: Graphic Novel, Science Fiction, Adult (Mature)
Series: Trees, Volume 1
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
3.5 stars out of 5
0001-19992225

It has been ten years since the Trees landed and the world are still not quite sure what to make of them. No-ones made an appearance, nothing has happened, until one day a researcher discovers an unknown flower growing out of the snow in the shadow of a tree, and everything starts to change… Are the Trees finally going to speak?

This is only the second graphic novel that I have read and the first one was very different to this one, as it was MG and this one is definitely not  MG – it is an adult graphic novel with some adult scenes, or “mature” as it says on the back cover. So, I don’t have much to compare it to. Honestly, after reading this, I really don’t know what to make of it. It follows a group of characters whom are each in different countries, and although I liked most of them, there wasn’t one that I loved. I didn’t really become invested in their lives. They are a diverse collection of characters, with different races, ages and sexuality included, which is good. But, I don’t know… Maybe it’s because it is only the first volume and it’s just setting up the series, but I didn’t love it. But I also didn’t hate it; I did give it 3.5 stars.

It was interesting to see the different parts of the world and I am intrigued by the foreign life forms on Earth and what they are going to do; this is the main reason why I will probably continue with this series, as I want to know what these trees are. Obviously, a major part of graphic novels is the art – and a big reason as to why I wanted to start reading graphic novels – and this artist is indeed talented. Below are a couple of my favourite pages.

WIN_20150520_113136                                    WIN_20150520_113604

All in all Trees is an intriguing graphic novel with an interesting concept and I look forward to learning more about the Trees.

Has anyone read any graphic novels? Got any recommendations? 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Trees

  1. I’ve only read two or three graphic novels, but I’ve never been able to get into them. I like the *idea* of them, but I always end up disappointed. I guess there’s just not enough story for me. I love my words!

    Like

    1. Yes, I know what you mean: sometimes the idea of a graphic novel is actually better than the graphic novel itself. I do like looking at the art that comes with graphic novels and if done right it can really help tell a story. However, I’m like you and like words to tell the bulk of a story.

      Thanks so much for commenting, Maraia! 🙂

      Like

  2. The cover and the synopsis caught my eye here. To be honest it reminds me of a doctor who episode I have watched where the trees start to speak xd But this one seems to be a lot more mature. And reading graphic novels is something I need to do more often as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

