Book Review: The Hero of Ages

WIN_20150509_125511

Author: Brandon Sanderson
Published: Gollancz, 2010
Pages: 724
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
Series: Mistborn #3
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
5 out of 5 stars
0001-19243094

A year has passed since the Well of Ascension incident and life has not improved for the citizens of The Final Empire. The ash is falling more and more, the mists continue to kill and there is a dark force upping its game, with only destruction in mind. The end is near…

Oh, how I love the ‘Mistborn’ series. I shall miss these characters fiercely! In the beginning of this book though, I will admit, I was a little irritated by Elend (don’t hate me. I heart Elend. Truly I do). The book started, and I thought: Well, somebodies got arrogant all of a sudden. Don’t worry, it doesn’t last long; I feel better about him again when I get to read his inner thoughts. He’s really trying to do right by the people and sometimes that means making tough decisions. This all feeds into his character development – which Sanderson is a pro at. We have seen him go on the journey from being a slightly naive nobleman scholar, to being king, to becoming Emperor and now we see him struggle to reconcile the two sides of himself: the Scholar and the Emperor who must make difficult choices.

Vin has found that inner peace that Elend is striving for. I have loved seeing how far Vin has come.

“So, she no longer fought out of fear for the man she loved. Instead, she fought with an understanding. She was a knife – Elend’s knife, the Final Empire’s knife. She didn’t fight to protect one man, but to protect the way of life he had created, and the people he struggled so hard to defend.
Peace gave her strength.”

You get to see from many POVs in this series and it was nice to get to see more of the other characters back-stories and journeys. Dear dear Spook. It was interesting to see more of him and learn about his childhood and how he came to live with his uncle Clubs – it’s sad that not all his family were as understanding as his uncle. He slowly grows in this book to be more authoritative – which I didn’t always like at times, I’m not really sure why – and at times I just wanted to shout at him and say, “Stop trying to be somebody else and just be you!”

Sazed, the poor dear (do I sound like an old lady, when I keep using the word ‘dear’? Who am I kidding? I don’t really care), is having a difficult time of late. He’s really struggling with his faith. Considering he is supposed to be an expert on religion, I don’t really think he understands the concept of faith. But…he gets there in the end. And, TenSoon the little rebel… It was really interesting to learn more about the Kandra.

One element of the book that I particularly loved was the mystery. It’s like a murder mystery, but you know who did it, you just don’t know why or how. I like that it keeps you guessing. It’s kind of fun and satisfying to finally get the answers to your questions. What is going on with the mists and ash? Who is this person appearing to Spook? It just keeps you guessing and the book went in a direction I did not see coming.

It was a roller-coaster of emotions. It broke my heart in two. Because the books are so long and Sanderson has crafted together such an intricate world, feeling as though real time is passing, I became even more caught up in this world and its characters. Every time I pick up one of the books in this series, it feels as though I am reuniting with an old friend. Each of these characters I have come to love. I have never actually used the phrase before, that I am about to: I ship Elend and Vin, always! There was a moment where they had an opportunity to dance together – because, you know, during war there’s usually more pressing matters – and it was a really sweet moment amongst all the blood shed and drama. And at the end of the book…omg, my heart broke. Seriously, you’ll know what I mean when you read it. Sanderson, why do you do this to your fans?! My emotions couldn’t be more all over the place, even if Allrianne was Rioting my emotions.

The Hero of Ages is an epic fantasy book that did justice as the conclusion to this magnificent series. A bittersweet ending had me lost for words. I will truly, truly miss these characters!

I can’t believe it’s over! And that ending really was a bittersweet ending – there is something I would have changed, but obviously can’t reveal what because of spoilers. How much do you love this series? If you haven’t read it, then you must!!! There is kind of a fourth book – a Mistborn novel – but it is set like three centuries in the future, so I just know I will miss all the other characters. Also, I’m still waiting for my allomantic powers to start – to Snap – but I don’t really like the idea of having to be close to death for this to happen… What’s a person got to do in order to get some kind of super-ability?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hero of Ages

  1. I am going to be honest here and say I didn’t read the entire novel in fear of some spoilers! But I got enough of it to understand that this final book in the series was just as fabulous as the first ones were, and that it was an epic ending. I know how you feel about missing these characters – it always hurts to say goodbye! At least we can visit them again in future rereads ^.^

    Like

Leave a Reply

