Book Review: The Mime Order

WIN_20150408_160246
Author: Samantha Shannon
Published: Bloomsbury, 2015.
Pages: 501
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy.
Series: The Bone Season #2
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
4 out of 5 stars
0001-14008820

It feels like a lifetime since I read The Bone Season, and I have been eagerly awaiting the sequel, The Mime Order, ever since I finished the first book. When I finally got a copy of The Mime Order in my hands, I was squealing with delight. Have you seen the beautiful cover? It’s gorgeous! So, when I started reading it, I was sad when I couldn’t quite become engrossed in it. I was feeling really disappointed about this; I felt that in the first hundred pages or so, I was a little bored.

I must admit that there were probably two reasons why I couldn’t truly engross myself in the book to start with. The first reason being it has been so long since I read The Bone Season. This book starts right where The Bone Season finished, and I was scrambling to rack my brain thinking of what took place in the first book. Slowly, things started coming back to me, but I still don’t remember half as much as I would like to. I would really like to reread it at some point, so that’s my advice to you, fellow readers: make sure you recap on what happened in The Bone Season, if it’s been a while since you read it. The second reason was due to having just been engrossed in another series of books, that I fell in love with. Maybe I should have waited until the next day to start a new book.

But, good news people… This book became awesome! I feel that it really started to pick up and I became completely engrossed. Paige is a great character; I admire her determination to fight against being silenced and to help free people from the tyranny of the Rephaim and leaders of Scion. I enjoyed reading the scenes between Paige and Warden.

“‘You call a past lover an ‘old flame’.’ His apple-gold eyes were more chilling than beautiful, his face carved out of nothing earthly. ‘For Rephaim, it takes a long time for a flame to catch. But once it burns, it cannot go out.'”

Also, the interactions between Paige and the Ranthen; I liked the back-and-forth between them. She didn’t let them walk all over her. She spoke up.

“‘You don’t scare me, Rephaite. You think I wasn’t beaten hard enough in the colony?’ I wrenched down my shirt, showing him the brand. ‘You think I don’t remember this?'”

It is nice to see Paige slowly coming out from under Jaxons’ shadow and standing up to him. And that ending… Wow! Shannon has really created a fascinating world – a true feat of the imagination. Please. Somebody tell me it’s not too long until the third book.

Have you read The Mime Order yet? Did you like it as much as The Bone Season?

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Mime Order

  1. I started reading The Bone Season when it first came out . . . and never finished it. But after reading this review I think I might have to give it another chance. Everybody raves about it — but for some reason I just couldn’t get into it! Glad you liked this sequel. 🙂

    Like

    1. I do think that at times, they can be a bit slow as the world is being built, so some people may not like this. If you do give The Bone Season another go, I hope you like it better this time. 🙂

      Like

  2. Ah, what a shame about the slow beginning but I am glad to hear that this one picks up after seeing it! I’m a pretty patient reader, so I can get through the first 100 pages being boring. After that though, I often give up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

