Book Review: Golden Son

WIN_20150416_164813

Author: Pierce Brown
Published: Hodder and Stoughton, 2015.
Pages: 442
Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian, Science Fiction.
Series: Red Rising Trilogy #2
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
5 out of 5 stars
Untitled design

Golden Son, the sequel to Red Rising, starts, not from where the first book left off, but about four years in the future. Darrow is now twenty, living among the Golds, continuing the quest to end the Society. To free his people (The Reds). But Darrow comes to realise that it isn’t about, ‘Us versus Them’. It is about all people being free. He sees the good among the Golds. It is about people being able to choose their own destiny.

“This isn’t about my people against yours. You aren’t Gold. We aren’t Red. We’re people.”

There are ups-and-downs; not everything always goes to plan – which usually makes for a more interesting read. And there is action… I sometimes got lost in that action, and was like: wait, what just happened? But guess what? I loved the action! And, do you know what else I loved? The writing. Browns’ writing is bloodydamn amazing! Register? See what I did there? The writing’s contagious; I’m using the dialect. I just adored it; there is something so…grand about the writing. I just gobbled it up.

Omg, the feels! This book ended with me shouting: “No. No. NO! Do not end there! Please…” I was laughing; I was crying from the moving endearing and beautiful moments scattered throughout the book. Writing is an art. It truly is. To be able to create a world within those pages, and envelop the reader within the story, causing them to remain engrossed in the world created. Taking the readers on a journey. Making them care for and fall in love with the characters. Eliciting emotions from readers as a result of your writing; words you have used to create a story. To make people feel all that… Keeping them engrossed… That is an art.

Okay…I may have gotten a little carried away there, but that’s what happens after reading work that we love, right? We get caught up in the beautiful writing, the beautiful moments of a story. These are some of the moments and lines that I loved:

“He always thinks because I’m reading, I’m not doing anything. There is no greater plague to an introvert than the extroverted.”

“Thank you. But you’re like a hound apologizing for wagging its tail. You’re always distant, Darrow. You don’t have to apologize for how you are, not to me.”

“In a world of killers, it takes more to be kind than to be wicked.”

“We have languished in darkness. But there will come a day when we walk in the light. It will not come from their mercy. It will not come by fate. It will come when brave hearts rise and choose to break the chains, to live for more. You must choose for yourself.”

I loved the humour and camaraderie between characters.

“‘Audentes fortuna juvat, darlings,’ Sevro says over a private com-line. I burst out laughing at the latin.
‘More ‘fortune favors the bold’ crap? Why not just say carpe diem?’
Because it’s tradition to say…
Do you always flirt like this before battle? It is adorable,’ Victra adds.
You should have seen them at the Institute, love at first howl,’ Mustang laughs.
I saw the clips! What a lovely couple.'”

“‘I can’t do this without you.’ After a desperate moment, ‘Are you with me? Sevro?’
He pulls back and wipes snot from his nose, muddying his face. Tears make lines in the mud as he looks up at me, voice cracking like a child’s. ‘Always, Darrow. Always.'”

I love a good quote. I kept jotting down page numbers as I read. There is a certain reunion that had me a little emotional. Oh…and the shock revelation of the identity of the leader of the Sons of Ares… I did not guess that! This book like the first, still has gore – in this world that they live in, it’s not surprising. Brown doesn’t pull any punches.

My thoughts and emotions are a little all-over-the-place, because I’m just flailing about, due to how much I loved this book. Well done, Mr Brown. Well done.

Have you read Golden Son? What did you think?

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Golden Son

  1. I liked it! But…um, I confess…I liked Red Rising better. xD Red Rising just blew me away with it’s bitter savagery. But Severo and Darrow were AH-MAZING in Golden Son! I’m freakishly excited for Morning Star. Like waaaay too excited. *fangirls irrationally*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. Yes, there are definitely some parts in Red Rising that are more…cringe worthy?

      Aww, Sevro and Darrow… Aren’t they the cutest friends? Maybe cute is the wrong word… I found their friendship sweet – and they make me laugh, which is a bonus.

      YES, I’M SO LOOKING FORWARD TO MORNING STAR! (Sorry about the shouting :D)

      Like

  2. *flails* DANGIT. I knew this series was on my TBR list, but you just made me want it desperately. Moral greyness? A few-years-later fic? And also ALL THE LINES. SO FABULOUS.

    Like

  3. I only scanned through this review because I have yet to read this one for myself, but I do have the books on my TBR! It seems like I can be looking forward to some good quality stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

