Book Review: Sisters

 

WIN_20150216_164028

Author: Raina Telgemeier
Published: 2014, Graphix (Scholastic).
Pages: 197
Genre: Graphic Novel, Memoir, Middle Grade.
Series: Smile #2
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
4 out of 5 stars

0001-64567528Sisters has made me a fan of graphic novels! I don’t actually have anything to compare it to, as this was the first graphic novel that I have read, but if others are like this, then graphic novels and I are going to get along just fine.

Sisters, a memoir telling the story of a family road-trip and the turbulence along the way thoroughly surprised me and had me laughing throughout. I picked this up while out shopping; once I saw the inside, I knew I had to buy it. I later realised that it is actually a companion novel to Smile, but the fact that I haven’t read Smile didn’t seem to matter.

It was good to see that even without pages full of text, the emotion still came across for me; each characters’ facial expression clearly conveyed what they were feeling. I also like how different speech bubbles sometimes portray the level of that emotion and how the colour of the page changes when there is a flashback. Raina Telgemeier is a talented lady; I love her illustrations.

WIN_20150216_164419

Sisters is a fun, light read, and for me was a revelation. I look forward to reading more graphic novels!

Is it just me who has only just discovered how amazing graphic novels are? Did everyone know before me?

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Sisters

  1. This is timely for me as I have just now been considering trying a graphic novel. There have been a few around recently that have caught my eye. I am glad that reaching out of your genre comfort zone worked out for you. I am going to give it a try myself.

    Like

    1. I hope you enjoy the graphic novel that you choose to read – let me know if you enjoy it as I’m always on the look out for recommendations. 🙂
      Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

