Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

WIN_20150429_120024

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: Bloomsbury, 5th May 2015.
Pages: 416
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Fairytale Retelling, New Adult.
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
5 out of 5 stars (A million out of a million stars!)
0001-13584741

It all begins with a human girl, a wolf in the forest and human stories of what lies beyond the forest wall. Feyre hunts to survive and provide for her family, but she never imagined that killing a wolf would set off a chain of events that will forever change her life…

I’m going to try and form coherent thoughts here…because I just LOVE this book so much! I’m seriously struggling to express how much I love it. Where to start… Where to start… Lets start with the world it is set in… The world is divided into the mortal realm and the faerie realm (consisting mainly of a place called Prythian, which consists of different courts: Spring Court, Summer Court etc.), after a Treaty was formed following a war between humans and faeries. I love this world; it seems real as it contains both beauty and harshness. I love reading about the Fae! This is a story loosely based on Beauty and the Beast – I’m finding myself loving all these fairytale retellings.

Now, the characters… Ah, what can I say about them…? They’re freaking awesome! Enough said? No? Lets start with Feyre. Dear, dear Feyre… So strong, yet so vulnerable… It’s a harsh life she lives. She is her familys’ provider – hunting in the forest – and she doubts how much they truly care for her. She feels a sense of duty towards her family and is intent on fulfilling a vow she made to her deceased mother, but there is also this yearning for freedom. I am so pleased for her when she finally gains some happiness. She has had to teach herself to hunt, to swim, to survive… She is strong but vulnerable as she sometimes lets her insecurities get in the way and has trouble letting people in. I found her relatable. I also really love her artsy side and how she sees things in shapes and colours. It’s so endearing how beautiful paintings can make her tear-up.

Now onto Tamlin and Lucien. Tamlin also feels a sense of duty, to his land and his people, which is something he and Feyre have in common – this sense of duty which can be very lonely. Tamlin is not at all how he may first come across, and Feyre soon realises this. You’re just drawn to this character – well, I am. He’s not like some of the other Fae; he doesn’t believe in keeping slaves and he cares. Truly cares about people. I may be a little in love. This story doesn’t just focus on Feyre and Tamlin though as there are many other great characters. There is much more to Lucien than he initially lets people see. He made me laugh and I could imagine his smirk. And I love how he and Feyre grow closer and become friends. Omg, people, there is just so much awesomeness! People surprise you – don’t take them at face value as there’s more lurking beneath – and the villians… The “she” that’s referred to is so evil and cruel – shes lost all reason.

“‘So you’re old,’ I said. ‘And you carry around a sword, and go on border control. Did you fight in the war?’ Fine – perhaps I hadn’t quite let go of my curiosity about his eye.
He winched. ‘Shit Feyre – I’m not that old.'” (Lucien and Feyre.)

“‘Because I wouldn’t want to die alone,’ I said, and my voice wobbled as I looked at Tamlin again, forcing myself to meet his stare. ‘Because I’d want someone to hold my hand until the end, and awhile after that. That’s something everyone deserves, human or faerie.'”

It was a joy reading this book – I became swept up in the story and I long to see the Spring Court and I don’t even really like Spring. Beware: if you don’t really like reading sex scenes, be warned that there are some. There’s also a little blood and gore, but if you’ve read the ‘Red Rising’  books by Pierce Brown then you can easily handle this one.

A truly riveting read! Read it, people. Read it!

Has anyone had the pleasure of reading this yet? How much do you love the characters? Are you looking forward to reading it, if you haven’t yet? Tell me someone out there is devastated, like me, because we have to wait until May 2016 for the second book. I have a giant shaped hole in my life now. I know, I know… I’m a drama queen.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. Ahaha I am not surprised you loved this one! I know a lot of people were anticipating it and love this authors works. I do like the sound of it being a retelling which I didn’t know it was until now! Like the Throne of Glass series I have added this one to my TBR of course 🙂

    Like

    1. I haven’t seen one really bad review for this book – some are a little mixed, but none really bad. Did you know that apparently Throne of Glass is a Cinderella retelling? I had no idea, as I don’t see any similarities, but I recently saw it somewhere saying that it is a retelling.

      Like

  2. I’m glad you like ACOTAR! *spies on your reply above* Actually, I have read one or two meh reviews, but none that really said it was horrible. I don’t know — my copy should arrive in a few days, but it’s good to know other people enjoyed it!

    Like

    1. I’m always a little nervous reading other peoples’ reviews because I want everyone to like it as much as I did – of course I know this isn’t always the case and every one is entitled to their own opinion. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

