Publisher Spotlight

Publisher Spotlight (1)

As I am a Publishing graduate, I have wanted to write a post that places a focus on publishing houses; I have decided to write a post every-few-months on the publications and soon-to-be published books from a particular publisher. I will list the books that I have read and liked, future publications I like the sound of and future publications I have been looking forward to.

Before I decided to pursue a career in publishing, I hadn’t really thought too much about the publisher behind the book. I would always see the name of the author but not seek out the name of the publisher. How things have changed… I also get to learn about so many books by perusing publisher websites. Let the lists begin…

I’m beginning with Bloomsbury this month who are an independent publishing house. I had the pleasure of interning at Bloomsbury for four weeks last year. They have published some of my favourite books and are probably best known for publishing the ‘Harry Potter’ series.
(Click on the titles at the beginning of each bullet point to go through to the books’ Bloomsbury page.)

WIN_20150416_170317

  • Throne of Glass‘: Throne of GlassCrown of MidnightHeir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. I love this series, with its interesting world and kick-ass main character, Celaena Sardothien. There is also The Assassin’s Blade: a collection of five short stories, which are just incredible!

WIN_20150416_170031

  • The Lovegrove Legacy‘: A Breath of Frost and Whisper the Dead by Alyxandra Harvey. I am a huge Harvey fan and was so excited when this new series was released (I was kindly given a copy of the first book during my placement at Bloomsbury when I mentioned that I was a fan. Who doesn’t love a free book, right?). This series is based on witches in Victorian London, so is my kind of book! A series containing witty, strong female characters who have magic, what more could you ask for?
  • All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill: Its been a while since I read this book but I do remember liking it. This book is interesting because a) it includes time travel and b) it is written from two POVs, but there is actually only one person. You’ll just have to read it to find out what I mean, if you haven’t already. This book definitely gets points for originality, in my opinion.

Upcoming titles:

WIN_20150428_161139

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: I have been looking forward to this A LOT. Magic. Faeries. You can count me in. How does Maas find the time to start a new series when she hasn’t finished the ‘Throne of Glass’ series? She’s obviously a writing machine – that…or she’s Super Woman. I am actually currently reading this. I preordered it from Waterstones and to my surprise it arrived early – so, thank you Waterstones! And, people…you will not be disappointed – well, I hope you’re not when you read it – because it is so amazing! I’m now obsessed with this new series!
    Publication date: 5/5/15.
  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas: This is my first time hearing of this book and I am very much intrigued. A tale of two boys on opposite sides of the world who strike up a friendship but can never meet due to illnesses, which would cause devastating consequences if they were to come face-to-face. Are you intrigued? I know I am.
    Publication date: 2/7/15.

So tell me: how much attention do you pay to who published a book? When you pick up a book, is this one of the things you look at? Have you read any of the books listed above? Are you also looking forward to the future publications listed? 

6 thoughts on “Publisher Spotlight

  1. Bloomsbury actually doesn’t have a Canada division which is unfortunate. It means that I can’t request physical ARCs ever which is 😦

    I don’t really pay attention to publisher when i choose a book but i do when i request for arcs, obviously. that being said, i sort of know what a book is published by if it’s a review copy and i’m also pretty good at listing titles (:

    Like

  2. I love that you are doing this! I am someone who wants to work in the publishing industry when I am older as well, and I do have some favourite publishers who I follow closely and try and read all their books because I know they pick up some of the best authors. Bloomsbury is cool but in all honest I haven’t read many of their books – I’ve only read two of the Harry Potter ones and no Maas!

    Like

    1. Thanks, that’s good to hear! Do you have any idea of what area of publishing you would like to work in? Bloomsbury was a cool place to work! Only two Harry Potter books? Olivia, you must correct this – soon! 😉 Sarah. J. Maas really is a great author! I definitely recommend her books. Have you read ‘The Bone Season’ series, by Samantha Shannon? They’re published by Bloomsbury. Which, now I think about it…I actually forgot to include these books; I think because I was looking at the children’s section of the website and ‘The Bone Season’ books come under the adult books department because they are New Adult.

      Like

  3. This is interesting, because I never used to pay attention to publishing houses before I started blogging! It’s still not really a criterion for whether or not I buy a book, but I do notice when I have a lot of books by a certain publisher and see another one by them that looks good!

    Like

    1. Yeah, blogging can suddenly make you take more notice. I noticed that I had quite a few books published by a couple of publishers, which then made me consider organising my books by publisher – but I haven’t got round to trying that yet. Maybe one day…

      Like

Leave a Reply

