Read-A-Thon: Day 6

Bookshelf Reflections

Reading update: I have finished reading Cinder, yay! I am currently on p.154 of Scarlet and loving it.

Day six of the read-a-thon involves participants answering some tricky questions inspired by the three series (although these are optional reading, people can read other fantasy books) for the read-a-thon. I have chosen to answer ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ questions.

1. Should you compensate your own happiness for the good of the people?
I’m afraid so, yes. If there’s no other way, then it must be done. I am a believer of there usually be another way, though. You may not see it straight away and it may take someone else to give you the idea, but I think the trick is to not make rash decisions.
2. Should you really try to run away from your problems or face them?Although, it can be really difficult, you really should try and face them; they’re not likely to disappear just because you ignore them.
3. If someone close to you falls ill, and there is only one cure should you give it to them, or wait (endangering their life) till the cure can be replicated for others too?
This is tricky, because every part of me would want to protect that person; well, hopefully I would be able to take a little bit of it to give that person like Cinder did, but if this is not possible then I would allow time for a possible cure to be found. Dr. Erland in Cinder discovered that it was not possible to replicate, in which case I would be rushing like hell to get the cure to that person close to me.
4. In a relationship, does status matter?
No, no, no. Surely, the only thing that matters is who that person is, their social class etc. should not matter. They should not be defined solely based on their social status. For example, Cinder is a good person, shouldn’t this be all that matters? Kai liked Cinder regardless of the fact that she is a Mechanic, in fact, part of him seemed to like her because she is a Mechanic.
5. Is world peace worth compensating independence?
Is it really peace if you are not free? It’s kind of a facade. Resentments will start surfacing, which could lead to rebellion. If Queen Levana gained power on Earth, people would not be free; there would be no real peace while she was killing or enslaving people.
6. Does your race/family history affect your personality and who you are?
Yes, I do think it plays a part. I think there are many things that make up who you are, but no one thing solely defines you, I think.
7. If you had a super power, should you use it?
Ooh, I dream of having a super power. I suppose it depends on what the power is and how you use it.
8. Is love worth risking everything for?
Well, I don’t particularly like people that when they fall in love, they become completely consumed by that love, so no; if it means risking your relationships with your other loved ones and career etc., then no.
9. Is lying to someone for their own safety acceptable?
If you feel that it is the only way to protect them, then yes. I don’t like being lied to, but I think I would understand someone lying to me if they truly thought they were protecting me.
10. Should marriage depend solely on love but also other factors?
I do think people should only really marry for love, but hey, probably not everyone will agree.

What would your answers be to these questions? Have you read ‘The Lunar Chronicles’?

6 thoughts on “Read-A-Thon: Day 6

  1. Oh, I do agree with you for #1 – not making rash decisions! But it would really suck if there were a time constraint :/ And you summed up my answer for #2 perfectly (I’m so long-winded omg). What kind of super power would you want? Mine would be breathing underwater 😀

    Like

    1. I long to fly! That would be my dream super power – although super speed would also be pretty cool. Flying is my number one though. Seriously. I envy birds their ability to fly. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

