Fantasy Favourites Read-A-Thon

Bookshelf Reflections

I don’t usually post on Tuesday’s, but I am delighted to make an exception today by posting my introduction post in preparation for the Fantasy Favourites Read-A-Thon next week; hosted by Inge, Karolina and Olivia.

1. Introduce yourself!
Hello! I’m Chantelle, from England. I’m a newbie blogger, who was inspired to start blogging after stalking my friends’ blog (hi, Asti!), and seeing how awesome it is. I really wanted somewhere to put my reviews. I am a MA Publishing graduate who hopes to one day (hopefully soon) work in the Publishing industry. I love reading beautiful writing (it moves me to tears) and I have a very naughty eight month old kitten, who is very tiring but adorable.

2. Why did you choose to join the read-a-thon?
As a newbie blogger, I thought it would be a great way to meet new people. (I can be very shy, so trust me it’s difficult for me to talk to new people – although it is a little easier online.) Also, I recently got ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ so the read-a-thon helped me decide what to read next.

3. What books do you intend to read? What’s your reading goal and how many pages do you actually think you can manage?
I think I’m going to try and finish Cinder – it all depends how much I love the book and how busy I am.

4. What is your current favourite fantasy read?
This is tricky… It’s so hard to choose, but I think I will say the last fantasy book which I read and loved: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson.

5. What is your least favourite fantasy read of all time?
This is even more difficult than the last question… Sorry, I’m going to be a ‘rebel’ and not answer. I really can’t think of one *hangs head in shame*. No…rebel’s don’t hang their heads in shame…*holds head up high, defiantly*.

6. Which fantasy book are you dying to read?
I can’t wait to read The Mime Order, which I will be reading very soon.

7. What fantasy book would you like to star in?
I actually have three in mind… ‘Harry Potter’ of course; Graceling because I am a huge Katsa fan and the ‘Mistborn’ series just because I want to be an Allomancer. Oh, wait…I just thought of another one: ‘The Iron Fey’ series because I want to meet Puck and Grimalkin.

8. Suggest three books for other read-a-thon participants that you think are worth powering through during the read-a-thon.
Graceling – I really related to Katsa as she doesn’t feel like she has to get married and have children. She believes it’s okay to not want this; I found this quite refreshing and could relate to it – of course, it’s absolutely okay if you do want children and want to get married, it’s all about personal preferences, but it’s really nice to have a character say that it’s okay if you don’t want that. I really need to reread this!

The Final Empire – This is the first Sanderson book I have read and I really enjoyed it.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – I imagine that many people have already read this first book in the series and then went on to read the next two in the series, but if you haven’t then I highly recommend this book and the whole ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ series.

9. If you could choose any fantasy book character to be chained to you during the read-a-thon, whom would you pick and why?
I am a HUGE fan of Puck from ‘The Iron Fey’ series! I just fell in love with him. He’s a great friend and made me laugh throughout the series. It would definitely be fun being chained to him.

10. Tag at least one friend and pester them into participating in this link up! Trust me, next Monday will be fun, especially if you answer question 9!
I’m going to tag the lovely ladies over at Oh, the Books. Asti, Kelley, come join in. 😀

14 thoughts on “Fantasy Favourites Read-A-Thon

  1. Happy to see you are joining us! I think the read-a-thon is a great way to meet new bloggers, and when I am not reading I am going to try and comment on everyone’s posts as well! I hope that can go well, ahaha. I really want to read Graceling and Daughter of Smoke and Bone as well, which is why I am so glad to see those as recommendations! It seems like you really like Brandon Sanderson as well, and he’s an author I really want to try. Can’t wait to see what you think of Cinder – it really is a brilliant book!

    Check out my review and giveaway: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2015/03/the-boston-girl-review-giveaway.html

    Like

    1. Thanks! Wow, you’re going to be busy – good luck! 🙂 I had heard good things about Sanderson, and I wasn’t disappointed – you should definitely try his books; hopefully you won’t be disappointed either. I hope I like Cinder – I think I will.

      Like

  2. Thank you for joining, Chantelle! I’m sure Olivia will be a wonderful host to your reading Cinder, and we hope you enjoy the challenges and games we’ve set up for you ^_^
    P.S. Mistborn is awesome! I’ve just finished the original trilogy!

    Like

  3. Hi Chantelle, welcome to the book blogosphere! I’ll be reading the Lunar Chronicles too for the read-a-thon 😀 Graceling and Daughter of Smoke and Bone have been on my TBR list in like forever – so many books, so little time! I’m glad you enjoyed those. Can’t wait for the read-a-thon to start; it seriously sounds like a ton of fun! I hope we’ll get to know each other better in the coming week 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Sherlyn! It’s funny: I just commented on your blog then saw that you had commented here.

      Thanks for the welcome *waves* 🙂 I actually thought that everyone who had heard of Daughter of Smoke and Bone had read it, but I’m coming to realise that not everyone has – it really is good! This is my first big read-a-long, so I’m looking forward to it. Thanks, I hope so too. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  4. Hi, welcome to the book blogging community! I hope you are enjoying it, and that you make lots of friends. This is my first read-a-thon, even though I’ve been blogging for a little over a year (wow I can’t believe it has been that long)!

    Like

    1. Hi, thank you! I am enjoying it – it’s a little addictive at times. I’m always thinking about what my next post is going to be.

      I’m looking forward to meeting new people – the blogging community seems like a great group of people.

      Thanks so much for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  5. I totally adore Daughter of Smoke and Bone!! SO INCREDIBLE AND BEAUTIFUL. Although I read book 2 and not book 3. Gah. I need to get onto that. (The size somewhat scares me hehe.) And I want to try Sanderson but again: size. WOAH! Those books are just so big. *gulps* I really want to read Steelheart. ^_^ One of my top favourite fantasies is Finnikin of the Rock! And I’m currently reading Game of Thrones and loving it. 😄
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. Laini Taylor sure has a way with words. I know, the size of the third book can be a bit off-putting…but just think, if you like the book (sadly, not everyone has loved the third book) then you can be engrossed in all that beautiful writing. *chants: Read it. Read it. Read it…* 😀

      I haven’t heard of Finnikin of the Rock – I’ll have to look that one up.

      Like

  6. I keep hearing about Brandon Sanderson’s books lately! I should probably give them a try. I also just ordered Daughter of Smoke and Bone, so I’ll definitely be reading that in the nearish future! Nice to meet you, fellow rebel. 😀

    Like

    1. It’s always nice to meet a fellow rebel. Hello! 😀

      That’s why I decided to read a Sanderson book: I kept hearing good things about them.

      I hope you like Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

