Mothers and Daughters

WIN_20150210_103656In honour of Mothers Day, I thought I would write a post featuring books – and one TV show, which I’ll talk about soon – with mother-daughter relationships. I’m focusing on mother-daughter relationships purely because I am a daughter and also because it’s rather difficult finding good parent-child relationships portrayed in YA. I could only think of one book that featured a mother and son, and it’s a sad story.

Now, I am going to sound totally biased…but I have the most amazing mum! She isn’t just my mum but my best friend (I know, I know, cheesy right? But, completely true!), so I’m a little disappointed that strong mother-daughter relationships aren’t represented much in the YA genre. Why is it that the parents always die? Or, are always MIA for some reason? Or, the main character doesn’t have a great relationship with their parents? This is okay, however, it would be nice for the main character to have a good relationship with their parents!

  •  Gilmore Girls – I’m going to start, not with a book but a TV show, the Gilmore Girls. I was so sad when this show ended! I would always watch it with my mum. If you haven’t watched it, then you MUST! Are you a fan of Lauren Graham, Alexis Bledel, Melissa McCarthy or Jared Padalecki? It features them all. The show featured a mother and her teenage daughter who share an incredible bond. It’s funny, endearing, intelligent and has some drama like all good shows. If you haven’t seen it and would like to (or you have, and want to watch it again) I think it is airing on Netflix and for people in the UK who have Sky TV, you can watch it on channel 176 (5*) – although it isn’t currently showing episodes straight from the beginning, so you will have missed some.
  • A Breath of Frost (‘Lovegrove Legacy’) – This series is set in Victorian England and focuses on three cousins (who are witches). They each have different relationships with their mothers, but my favourite I think is Penelope’s mother. She lets the girls’ be who they are, doesn’t completely ignore magic like Gretchen’s mother and is fierce when protecting her daughter and nieces. I like that Harvey includes these relationships in her books and that she always includes strong female characters.
  • My Love Lies Bleeding (‘Drake Chronicles’) – Another Alyxandra Harvey book. Its been a while since I read these books but I remember Solange’s mum being fierce (you don’t want to mess with her), and although, like with every parent and their teenage child, it can be a little strained at times, I remember her being devoted to her family. (I really want to reread these, at some point.) And then there’s Lucy and her mother; I remember her mum being a little quirky – I mean… she named her daughter Lucky, but she likes to be called Lucy. I like that her mum has been included in the books and not completely ignored and that her mum cares about what she is getting up to (she is hanging out with vampires after-all, even if they are like a surrogate family). I do wonder if I will like the series as much as I did the first time though; I do miss the character’s, so I might do.
  • The Mortal Instruments – So this involves Clary going in search of her mother who has been kidnapped by the evil Valentine. Although their relationship does involve lies – but these are told because of a mothers’ attempt to protect her daughter – there is clearly much love there, and like Clary I would go in search of my mother and not stop until I found her. Although now I think about it, Jace is a bit distracting for Clary – focus Clary! – although he is a skilled Shadowhunter, so is useful to have around I suppose.
    WIN_20150210_103823
  • The Fault in Our Stars – I have tried to not include books that are too sad, and this is indeed sad, but I can’t help thinking of that scene from the movie where Hazel is telling her mum how happy she is that she has been taking classes in Social Work, because she needs to know that she will have something else in her life. She can’t bear the thought of her parents not being able to cope after she is gone; she needs to know that they will be okay. This gets me every time, and is actually making me tear-up right now. Lets move on shall we?
  • The Raven Boys (‘Raven Cycle series’) – Blue has many unique and strong women in her life (her mother being one of them), and although I’m sure they can be quite trying at times, I imagine that she couldn’t imagine her life without them.

Oh my… that was a little difficult. YA really needs more good parent-child relationships! I’m sure there are books that I don’t know about, so if I have missed any, let me know.

To all those celebrating Mothers Day tomorrow: Happy Mothers Day! I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Flower

So, do you agree? Do you think that there is not enough good mother-daughter relationships in YA? Can you think of any that I have missed? Feel free to let me know.

2 thoughts on “Mothers and Daughters

  1. GREAT LIST! You’re right, it’s hard to find a good mother-daughter relationship. I guess sometimes it makes sense that they are absent — after all sometimes a plot would go nowhere if a YA character just had her mum there to fix things straight — but I miss them all the same.

    John Green writes parents so well tho right?! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you! 🙂 True, can’t really have mum always fixing the MC’s problems in a book; it’s just nice to see a strong relationship with a parent pop up now-and-then in a book.

    Yes, John Green is good at including parents in his books and writing them quite well – I haven’t read all his books though. I think Hazels’ parents are definitely my favourite parents in his books though.

    Thanks so much for commenting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

