Book Review: The Final Empire

WIN_20150202_094400

Author: Brandon Sanderson
Published: First published by Tor Books, July 2006. Above edition: Gollancz, October 2009

Pages: 647
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Dystopian. 
Series: Mistborn #1
Read more on Add it on Goodreads 
5 out of 5 stars

0001-58373189

I had heard good things about Brandon Sanderson – Kelley from Oh, the Books raves about him a lot on her blog. So I thought I must read at least one of his books and I’m glad I did! The Final Empire is extremely good, but it’s difficult explaining why it’s so good.

First of all it is focused on two main characters: Kelsier and Vin. Through the book I was wondering if it is classed as Young Adult, as it begins with Kelsier who is thirty-something. However, Vin is sixteen and her journey is definitely a focus of the story (so, I feel like it can be classed as Young Adult as well as Adult). I feel as though this book was actually a kind of background story. (This may not make sense, but I will try and explain as best I can.) I feel like this particular story led us to where Vin is supposed to be. Obviously there is more to come – otherwise there wouldn’t be two more books – but the book was subtle in its hints that Vin is possibly ‘destined’ for something in particular. Sanderson has done a great job with this, I think; he has cleverly led us on this journey, letting us see how Vin becomes the person she is; how Kelsier helped her to trust and realise that she has so much more potential than she realised. It breaks my heart at times that Vin has been beaten down so much that she doesn’t think she is good enough. It’s not rushed; Sanderson takes his time with the characters. Each character have their own distinct personality and you are taken along on their journey. Sanderson has taken the time to let the characters really develop and let readers see how the main character has changed and what moulded them into the person they are becoming. Does that make sense? I hope so!

“You asked why I smile, Goodman Mennis? Well, the Lord Ruler thinks he has claimed laughter and joy for himself. I’m disinclined to let him do so. This is one battle that doesn’t take very much effort to fight.”

Allomancy: if you want to learn about this interesting concept then you MUST read the book! I was so intrigued by this idea; it involves having certain abilities by ‘burning’ certain metals. We are surrounded by different metals, so what if we could use these metals to increase our strength and senses etc.? It does involve swallowing small quantities of metals in order to gain different abilities – which I would be a little unsure of – but you could gain the ability to do what is called Steel Pushing and Pulling, for example. This is basically the ability to be able to Push against metal allowing yourself to fly through the air – which I think is freaking awesome! I would love to be able to fly and if this was the nearest I could get to it then I would be satisfied. Pulling is being able to Pull metal towards you. I’m not sure I have explained that sufficiently, but read the book and you’ll know what I mean.

It made me laugh; it made me cry. It is definitely worth a read! Don’t let the size of the book put you off. If you want a quality read, then read The Final Empire! I can’t wait to read the next two!

Have you read The Final Empire? Isn’t it awesome?! Does allomancy sound like fun to you?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Final Empire

  1. Glad to see you liked this one. As you know, I’m currently reading it now. Haven’t gotten very far, but am enjoying it so far. I’m just at the bit where Vin is learning about Allomancy and it IS quite interesting. Hoping I like the rest of the book as much as you do.

    Like

    1. I hope you continue to like it. I long to be able to fly so part of the reason I love the idea of allomancy is that it allows you to get close to something like flying. To be able to run really fast also sounds like fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

