A Trip to Prague.

You may be thinking after seeing the title: What does a trip to Prague have to do with a book and movie blog?  Have you read Daughter of Smoke and Bone ? Yes? Well then you may have guessed where I am going with this post. Do you ever read a book and then want to go to the place in which it was set? I really want to go to Hogwarts and Diagon Alley. If only they were real… Maybe they are; maybe I’m a muggle who’s kept in the dark about that world. One can dream right? However, I’m going to be talking about my trip to Prague (as you have probably already guessed. Am I repeating myself?), a background setting in Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

BzHdhIgIEAAifys

I had heard that Prague is considered to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world – that’s enough to make you want to go, right? However, to be honest, one of the main reasons for going was because I had read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I don’t read a book set in a real-life place and think that everything I’ve read is real; I didn’t go expecting to see angels in the sky or expect to see a door with a hand-print burned into it. I’m not delusional, I promise you!  – although, that would be seriously cool, right? It would be like stepping into the book. Obviously, authors can put their own twist on a location and if it’s fantasy, add fantasy elements into the story. After reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I thought that it would be cool to be able to visit the place – and I love to travel – and see what it is like in person (see, books are also good for tourism).

20141002_163758
Charles Bridge

Prague was indeed a beautiful city. I fell in love with the Charles Bridge; it had a great view and it was nice to look out across the water – it was especially beautiful at night. And, do you know what else I loved about Prague? There are so many bookstores! I had already planned to visit an English bookstore while I was there; I couldn’t help but notice that almost everywhere I went, there were bookstores. I discovered a gem of a bookstore while wandering, called The Palace of Books. This was literally a hallway filled with books and stationary, and downstairs there was a huge bookstore – and, they had English Books! As you can probably guess, I was extremely happy with this discovery.  So, although I didn’t see Karou or Akiva – not even a lookalike. Where was the girl with blue hair? – Prague outside of the book was just as good!

20141001_154346   20141001_151304

Do you often dream of visiting the places you read about in books? Have you been to Prague? If so, did you like it as much as I did?

Leave a Reply

