Movie Review: Jupiter Ascending

Jupiter Ascending is… engrossing, action packed and different. From the very beginning there was action and it kept my attention, keeping me engrossed in this world-of-worlds. A story of a woman learning that earth is not the only inhabited planet in the universe, nor was it the origin of the human race and that she is destined for far greater things than she could ever have imagined.

I very much enjoyed this movie and found myself getting lost in it. Isn’t this what we desire in movies? To become lost in them and for that short period of time that we are watching that screen, to be transported somewhere else? (I know I do anyway.) This is what I found happening: at one point I became so caught up in the movie, that I thought of nothing else. Time as a commodity was an interesting concept: If there was the possibility for immortality, what lengths would people go to, to acheive it? It’s a precious thing, time… but it is scary to see what people would do in order to gain more of it in this movie. (Immortality has never appealed to me.)

There is a good cast: Eddie Redmayne, Mila Kunis, Channing Tatum and Sean Bean. Now, I am an Eddie Redmayne fan and he was great at portraying this horrible, psychotic character, but…that voice… He changed his voice for the role and I just found myself being a little irritated by it. My only other issue – it’s a rather small issue, really – was the main character Jupiter. I liked Jupiter, I by no means disliked her… It’s just that she always seemed to need saving; this is okay, we all need help sometimes, but I found her to be so gullible at times. At one point I was screaming in my head: Don’t do it! Don’t believe him! Demand to talk to the others and get advice!  She did ask to talk to Caine (Tatum) but when Titus spun some lie about why she couldn’t, she believed him! I think I preferred Kunis’ performance when she was able to be more feisty; when Jupiter was fighting to save her family, I feel she came more into her own as the movie progressed.

It has to be mentioned – it doesn’t really, but I really want to – that I need a pair of Grav-Boots (not sure that’s what they’re called, or how it’s spelt). I need to be able to fly, or ‘fly-skating’, because that’s what it looked like sometimes: somebody skating above the ground. Also, I need myself a pair of wings – you’ll know what I mean if you see the movie.

All in all, it was an action packed movie that kept me gripped.

4 out of 5 stars

Have you seen Jupiter Ascending? What did you think? Do you desire a pair of wings or Grav-Boots? or is it just me?

Leave a Reply

