Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

WIN_20150202_095150

Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Published: 21st October 2014. Scholastic Press.
Pages: 389
Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Supernatural.
Series: Raven Cycle #3
Read more about it on Add it on Goodreads
5 out of 5 stars

blue lily, lily blue blurbEver since I read The Raven Boys, I have become captivated by the ‘Raven Cycle’ series, and the third installment Blue Lily, Lily Blue does not disappoint. I have loved reading about the characters and following them on their journey. I devoured this book in just one day; I could not stop reading. On the back cover there is a quote from the Sunday Telegraph: “All-consuming”. It really was! There is something about this series – like all the books I truly love – that I just can’t put my finger on. I can’t quite pinpoint why I love it so much, I just know that I do.

I can’t help but love each character – apart from the obvious baddies of course. Each character has something likable about them, however very complex they may appear. Ronan, for example, can appear as a complete arse most of the time, but there is much more to him. I was moved when he said:

“No. Do you hear me, Cabeswater? You promised to keep me safe. Who are we to you? Nothing? If you let him die, that is not keeping me safe. Do you understand? If they die, I die, too?”

Ever since the first book, I was drawn in and have wanted to be a member of their group. I’m loving seeing their journey unfold and watching the characters develop, and I always love it when some sort of magic is involved. I cannot wait for the next book! Will Gansey and co. finally find the lost King Glendower? I look forward to finding out!

Do you love this series as much as I do? Would you love to be one of the ‘gang’? Did the third book live up to your expectations? 

Leave a Reply

