Movie Review: Into the Woods

Into the Woods was not what I was expecting. To be honest, I’m not too sure what I was expecting; I think basically I was expecting fairytale retellings and a bit of music (because I had heard there was a musical element to it). However, although Into the Woods involved these two elements, the movie still took me a little by surprise and was not what I expected. From the very start there was singing – make no mistake, this is definitely a musical. Which is great because I love musicals. Although they might not be for everyone – and the singing wasn’t bad.

Most fairytale retellings focus on one fairytale, but Into the Woods involves numerous fairytales and how the character’s paths cross. It was refreshing in a way, as with a lot of fairytales there’s the happily-ever-after ending – which is okay. I like happily-ever-afters, but this isn’t always reality – but Into the Woods doesn’t allow everyone their happily-ever-after. People die *gasp*, and not everyone saw their lives heading in the direction that they do, but realise that this isn’t necessarily always a bad thing. One particular character I think realises that, what they thought they wanted didn’t actually turn out to be right for them (be careful what you wish for). People make mistakes, but making sure that you learn from them and realising what it is that you really want, was, I feel, a message that was threaded throughout the movie.

There was some superb acting: Meryl Streep was amazing as the witch. I wish that there was more of Johnny Depp as the Wolf; he shined in the relatively small part he played in the movie. There were many fine performances and it is difficult to mention them all, but I must mention Chris Pine. Pine played one of the Prince’s, and OMG, I was laughing at almost everyone of the scenes he was in. First of all I was thinking: is this just bad acting? Or is he supposed to be acting like this? I quickly realised that, yes, this is how the character is supposed to be played. The Prince thinks that he is charming, I actually thought he was incredibly annoying and the only person he truly loved was himself. But, he was ridiculously funny! The scene involving the other prince along with Pine was hilarious! It’s so different from any other role I have seen Pine play before.

It was funny, had some catchy music and even made me tear-up a little. I very much enjoyed watching it!

4 out of 5 stars.

Have you seen Into the Woods? Did it make you laugh? Do you like or dislike musical movies?

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Into the Woods

  1. I’m glad you liked this one so much. I really wanted to see it in theatre but never got around to it, and it’s not showing anymore here in the States. Will have to wait until it’s on DVD, I guess. Sad to hear Johnny doesn’t have as much screen time as you’d like because I’m a big fan, but that’s okay. Still looking forward to it!

    Like

    1. Aw, I hate it when I have to wait for the dvd because it stopped showing at the cinema – that happened with The Hobbit.

      I thought you would be pleased that Johnny Depp was in it; he only has a couple of scenes, I think, but was really good (and a little creepy, which you’ll see when you get the dvd).

      I hope you like it!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. I WANT to see it….because I adore fairy tales, like really really love. I read all the retelling books I can. 😄 But I’m noooot a fan of musicals. Gah. You see my dilemma?! I’ll probably watch it one day (whenever it’s out on DVD) and then I can always abort if the singing is too much. But gah! There’s so many amazing actors! I really want to see Johnny Depp as the wolf, and Chris Pine sounds hilarious. xD

    Like

    1. As long as the musical part doesn’t bother you too much, you might just love it as it focuses on more than one fairytale.

      Pine is funny (I thought so anyway. There was two other people in the cinema and I don’t think they laughed. Me and my mum were sitting there unable to NOT laugh).

      I hope you enjoy it!

      Thanks for commenting Cait!

      Like

  3. First of all,hi Chantelle! *waves*.I am a new reader of your blog and I promise I’ll be a regular one:)
    I really loved Into The Woods!I am a huge fan of most of the actors-Meryl Streep,Johnny Depp and Chris Pine.And I really liked their performances.
    Plus the soundtrack was amazing.It was creepy,fantastic and magical at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

